Skip to content

It’s Getting All Kinds of Crafty Up In Here

June 11, 2009

Laura’s Blog Entry

Summer is a wonderful time during which, for some reason, I think that I have lots more free time when actually I don’t. And if you count the fact that I can sleep in an hour later, I have less time. But that’s the special mojo summer works on you. The lovely delusion that it’s three months of vacation.

Except for cooking and cleaning and laundry, of course. Oh yeah. That.

Despite the drudgery of reality I love to start new projects and/or pick up old ones again in the summer months. Here’s what’s back on the needles.

The black cotton sweater from a year ago. I am not going to rehash the bloody battle with the trinity stitch, but the 2×2 rib and I are getting along famously. Enough so that I take her to the pool and to The Speckled Bird Café. It’s already 5 ½ “ long, so all is well. I may wear this sweater yet.

Then there’s the Sipalu Bag from Knit Picks. We’ve had our moments, but this one is starting to hit a rhythm. I still don’t believe that these pattern repeats are going to come together in the center of a square, but I have faith in the designer and the process. I love Knit Picks Palette Yarn and this kit will give me tons of leftovers to play with once the bag is done.

I know the corded edge looks absolutely horrible, but you know what? I couldn’t care less. I do dig the heart motif. Focus on that, would ya?

Finally, there’s the project that got me through the last week of May, the Octagon Quilt.

I’ve assembled three “flowers” of octagons in three pattern combinations so far. Can’t wait to see the others put together. Time to cut more octagons. Some of the fabrics are leftover from gifts I’ve made for people. Some of them are scraps from projects during my days as an interior designer. I adore the paisley fabric and knew someday I’d find something to do with it. The price tag on that one was fairly steep if I remember correctly.

I bet I can go on working on these things between housework tasks and managing our finances for at least a few more weeks before I realize this is no vacation. Don’t feel too sorry for me, though. I will have a proper vacation in August. One that involves seeing the lovely Martin Gore in the sparkling, angelic flesh. Albeit from section 200-and-something at Madison Square Garden, but still. Now that’s what I call a vacation!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cathy Atkinson permalink
    June 14, 2009 3:09 pm

    Hi Laura, maybe you could make one of these!:
    Dave Gahan Doll in Italy

  2. June 14, 2009 4:11 pm

    OMG that is hilarious! I have attempted crocheting amigarumi DM figures, but so far I haven’t even finished the first one. This is a bit too “representational” for me tho! Definitely needs a black vest and trousers!

Leave a Reply

