Skip to content

Quilting Bee and Blogs I Read

June 4, 2009

Laura’s Blog Entry

We had a crazy, insane, lose your mind, burst into tears week last week. It was the end of school, which, while exciting, causes problems. Mari becomes quite irritable and anxious when things vary from the regular schedule. Another symptom we chalk up to ADHD. Last week was full of field trips and parties – nothing was normal. Add to that the fact that we had dance rehearsal every single night, and you have a recipe for serious meltdown, both for Mari and for me.

No matter how much margin I plan into my days, the last week of school is always really, really hard. So many things came up with recital costuming that had to be done at the last minute. If you know me, you know that I am not a last minute person. I plan and plan and plan some more so I don’t have to rush at the end. But this was out of my control. By the time we got to Friday there I was, sitting on the sofa, trying to hurriedly sew ribbons on pointe shoes when I stabbed myself with the sewing needle and completely lost it. A good 15-minute cry later I got myself together and took Mari for her first performance.

The show ran quite smoothly. Mari handled things quite well and I’ve seen so much maturity in her this year. Then we got to do it all again on Saturday. Luckily that night I was able to sit in the audience and watch instead of managing the class costume changes. It was a big relief and a joy to see. Neil and I both shed a tear after Mari’s ballet number. She worked an entire year to be able to perform on pointe for the first time. We are so proud of her. It was her choice to do it and she made it happen.

This week we are taking a break from normal tasks and pointe dancing and schoolwork. We are basking in the freedom of summer. Mari has her head buried in a laptop, trying to design a computer game. And I get to start a project I’ve been dreaming about for a while. Lately there have been quite a few sewing/quilting blogs added to my RSS feed. I’ve been pouring over the pretty fabrics, designs and color combinations of various featured quilting projects.

The box of fabric scraps in the basement began calling my name and I couldn’t wait to pull them out. I was sure I could use what I have on hand to make a quilt. I decided, after a bit of thought to use paper piecing to make a hexagon quilt. The inspiration for the pattern came from here.

It’s a blog called Turning*Turning and is described by the author as “An art therapist on creativity, healing, and the power of making.” We connected through the site Accidental Creative and I feel very fortunate to have found her and her inspiring blog. I tend to wrap up my personal issues in my craft and she is helping me see how this is a very sane thing to do and can lead to growth.

The inspiration for the technique for my quilt came from here.

This is a blog by Kelley Petkun from the Knit Picks yarn company. I enjoy listening to her podcast and heard her talk about English Paper Piecing as an alternate craft to knitting.

And the color scheme for my quilt came from my fabric stash:

I am not usually a pastel kind of girl, but the attic-like upstairs of our house called for a feminine cottage look for our bedrooms. I think these colors will be something I can live with for a long time. Besides, they are very deep pastel tones. That’s OK, right?

I like the fact that there is a mix of traditional calico patterns with some more modern ones. It’s the similarity of the tone intensity that unites them. Here’s what I’ve got so far:

A long, long way to go! A neutral will need to be purchased to tie everything together, but it’s a start. This will be a perfect vacation, travel project. If I cut and prep the pieces and I can work in the car as well as anywhere else I choose on our summer travels. I love my knitting, but I need to alternate with something else.

Next week I have to go back to doing financial stuff, cleaning and organizing but this week is all about getting started on the quilt. The potential of it is delicious!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2009 10:46 pm

    So glad you have turned to a quiet project at a time of stress. Thank you for your kind words about the blog — I am glad we’ve connected, too!

Trackbacks

  1. Obsessive Quilting « The Smiths' Occasional Blog

Leave a Reply

