Skip to content

Depeche Mode – Unboxing the Universe

April 21, 2009

Laura’s Blog Entry

Well the day is finally here. We got our box set of Depeche Mode’s Sounds of the Universe. Worth the wait? MOST CERTAINLY!

Here’s a video peek into our unboxing and listening ritual. By now you must think I am a complete and utter psycho who needs help. Perhaps. But in all seriousness, this band is one of the reasons why I am still around in this life. That’s no joke. I’m feeling somewhat emotional, so here’s a bit of fun while I process this album and work out what I want to say about it.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2009 9:37 am

    Holy Sh…, love ya for that video 😉 You make me crave the box now. I wanna…have…it….like NOW! ;-D
    The design looks so spiffy.

  2. April 23, 2009 8:59 am

    I saw on the Twitter that you got it. I feel responsible. That’s OK, you’ll thank me someday.

  3. April 24, 2009 9:49 am

    You are SO adorable! I love that whole video… Neil’s appearance at the end just solidifies to me that you two were a match made in heaven. Bliss!

    xo

  4. April 24, 2009 10:47 am

    Thanks, Diane! FYI everyone, the skull ring I wore in the video is made by Diane at http://tastyjewelry.com

    She’s too classy to mention that, but I’m not!

  5. April 25, 2009 8:30 am

    Hi,

    Hope you don’t think this is a spam post, but I wanted to let you know about http://www.depecheroad.com. We’re creating a wiki-documentary following Depeche Mode’s SOTU tour made up of blogs, video, photos and interviews by the fans who are attending the gigs.

    Please check it out and let us know what you think.

    • April 25, 2009 8:39 am

      Hi Stuart! This is not the least bit spammish! Great idea and great site. We’ll give you a mention on our podcast that comes out May 1 and will certainly make contributions for the show we attend. Thanks so much for letting us know about it!

  6. April 27, 2009 4:47 pm

    Thank you for making this video! 🙂 I pre-ordered my box set from Amazon and it was torture waiting for it to arrive. I finally got it last Thursday, two agonizing days after the release date, and seeing you open the package made me feel better because I got to see how it was packaged and sort of felt like I had received mine. Thanks for letting me peek at the world through your eyes!

    • April 27, 2009 6:28 pm

      I was surprised mine got here on release day. It was scheduled to arrive on the 27th! But the universe took pity on me, I guess! Glad the video didn’t torture you and make you feel worse…

Leave a Reply

