Skip to content

New for Spring

March 16, 2009

Laura’s Blog Entry

After making the cute little baby hat last month, I decided to use some left-over yarn to make a grownup version for myself. Just in time for some cool-ish spring weather.

And here are some incredibly unflattering photos I took using my webcam. It’s too hard to photograph myself with the regular camera.

I used Lion Brand Cotton-Ease yarn, in Cactus (darker green), Lime (lighter green) and Stone (gray). I like the subtle shades put together. The photo at the top of the post gives the more accurate depiction of the colors.

I adapted their pattern for the Cheerful Baby Hat by casting on 80 stitches. I also did four rows of each color for the striping instead of two. I knit until the hat was 8 1/2” and then did the decreases. Easy and quick.

Also for spring, the shoe bug has bit. I don’t spend that much time clothes shopping, but I do love a well-planned blitz when I need something. I always go in with a very specific idea of what I am looking for. This time the target was casual shoes.

So it was off to the shoe warehouse store. I was sad to see the upper discount floor had been closed and now a smaller sale area was located on the first floor. I didn’t have any success with the discount section, and was forced to shop in the main store area – not usually a good idea. Too many cute shoes to choose from that are not on sale. But I located two pairs marked down, combined that with my $20 coupon, and I was out of there for a quite reasonable sum. (In Laura’s world, reasonable sum = $60 for two pair.)

So here’s what I’ll be rockin’ this spring:

Slip-ons. Super comfy.

Lace-ups. Almost as comfy.

Black for spring. What a surprise? I tried on many, many cute but painful shoes. What’s the deal with no cushion in the soles? I can’t live like that.

I did have to pass up some super-cute-girly-strappy-high-heeled sandals. No events on the horizon to warrant buying those.

Darn. They were hot.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

