Skip to content

In Search Of… The Queen City’s Best New York Style Pizza – Part 2

March 11, 2009

Neil’s Blog Entry

Okay, if I start with a caveat, you’ll assume I didn’t like it. Right? Well, let’s see.

Stop #2: Roc-A-Fellas

This past weekend we tried another pizza place in search of the best New York style pizza in Cincinnati. Roc-A-Fellas is located in Sharonville on Reading Road and promises “a taste of New York.”

Entering Roc-A-Fellas, the first thing I noticed was the warmer full of pizza “by the slice.” That was promising. The second thing I noticed, once we were seated, was the unmistakable vintage Wendy’s table tops. Anyone over 30 surely remembers the old newspaper ads that decorated the table tops at Wendy’s back in the day. There were a few handful of photos of New York on the wall, but other than that, it looked like any other neighborhood pizza joint. We ordered a large cheese, some chips and three bottled waters. The total bill was $22.

So, here’s the caveat. I’m no food critic and I don’t pretend to be. And I’m not trying to say, “This pizza place is good and that pizza place is bad.” There’s a very specific taste that I am trying to find. One I grew up with. And it is very possible I may not be able to find that specific taste. And if I think a certain pizza doesn’t have that particular New York style taste – MY New York style taste – that doesn’t mean it’s bad pizza. It means it’s just not what I’m looking for. And that being said…

…it wasn’t what I was looking for.

First of all the sauce was all wrong. It was too thick and rich – very much like a tomato paste actually. The crust was thin enough, but the texture was wrong. There was no crispy or chewy quality to it. And there was not much in the way of the flavor of the crust. New York style pizza has a certain taste to the crust, and this was not it.

Now, in the interest of full disclosure, I did get a comment on my last post about this from ShawnS, who said, “If possible try for Roc-A-Fella’s on a weekday afternoon. I think that’s when the owners are there. Sometimes the less integral employees don’t put as much effort into the pizza.” Needless to say, I forgot all about that and went on a Saturday because we were in the neighborhood. So I think there may be another stop at Roc-A-Fellas in the cards for me in the near future.

On a side note: a really cool thing about Roc-A-Fellas is that they donate all their profits to the relief of domestic and international poverty. So even if it wasn’t the taste I was looking for, it’s worth it to stop by, eat some pizza, and help out those in need at the same time.

So, I’m one for two in our search for the best New York style pizza in the Queen City. Stay tuned for number three in the next several weeks or so. And if you know of any other places for me to try, just leave a comment and I’ll add them to the list.

Still with no pithy catchphrase,
Neil

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2009 4:56 pm

    I went with my co-workers and no one but me (the oldest) remembered those Wendy’s tables. You spot any proof that those were 100% old Wendy’s tables or did they just look like it?

    I’ve been meaning to try Roc-A-Fellas again myself and I love the respectful way you preface the write up. Going to lunch with Veggie Option and her husband recently and seeing the write up draw some flack from the restaurant, I really appreciate the intro to this one.

  2. Zach permalink
    March 31, 2009 12:00 pm

    Strongest suggestion i can give you in regards to rocafellas is call ahead for a cheese pie on some weekday afternoon and request it made by tom. I go there on a regular basis for food and he does their pie’s the best, is just an employee but he cares about the quality of pie that he puts out. I wont tell you that it will live up to your New york standards but its quality pizza

Leave a Reply

