Skip to content

Irreconcilable Differences

March 3, 2009

Laura’s Blog Entry

There is a reason I’ve not done a knitting blog in while. And it’s a darn good one. You see, I talked smack about a project, and now I am paying the price. Yes, the Trinity stitch saw fit to crush me – to break me down and leave me a mere shell of a person. Excuse me while I go a little Yarn Harlot on you.

Faithful readers may recall, when last mentioned, my sweater project was in time-out in the craft closet. Well, I felt enough time had passed that we could at least speak civilly to one another. I WAS WRONG.

I was willing to let bygones be bygones. Alas, Trinity is not as big a stitch as I gave her credit for being. Sometimes in a relationship one person moves on while the other just is unable to grow. Yes Trinity, I’m talking to you.

I was willing to work on you slowly, as you demanded. I was also willing to endure the sore fingers that “purling 3 together” required. Your laciness was pretty. Your texture very satisfying. BUT YOU ARE ONE UNFORGIVING SON-OF-A-STITCH.

Now that I’ve been knitting for two years, it is possible, under more reasonable circumstances to catch and correct errors in the fabric. Not with Trinity. Oh no. If she gets messed up, if a stitch gets dropped, it’s all over. The pattern is such an intricate looping and twisting of the yarn that there is no way, for me at least, to fix anything.

And I tried. Oh good golly I tried. I started this sweater over twice, but there is just no way I can do a whole sweater without making an error. IMPOSSIBLE.

So here we are. And here’s the current state of the sweater:

Everything has been ripped out yet again. I decided to still use the pattern for the Flirty Sweater, by Sasha Kagan from Ready, Set, Knit. But with another four-stitch pattern that doesn’t break my heart. Yes, I can now be found spending my spare minutes working on Two-By-Two Rib. He is much more transparent with his patterning. That is where I am right now, so we are getting along well. And when I start to feel a little bored with his repetitiousness, I remind myself that boredom is way easier to deal with than feelings of murderous rage. I may even change to stockinette stitch at a certain point. Not the boldest of moves, but it’s what I feel comfortable with after the trauma I have endured.

In closing, please don’t let this cloud your own relationship with Trinity. Who am I to dictate your choices? Heck I might try her again for something small. Very, very small.

But then again, maybe not.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. ammanmom permalink
    March 4, 2009 9:09 am

    Oh, Kim. I was hoping for a blog to inspire me to knit….alas, this was not it! LMAO
    did I ask you if you want a cat? I’ve got 7 I need homes for. I deliver. Think about it.

  2. March 4, 2009 9:14 am

    Don’t let this sway you! I stepped out of bounds and tried something too hard. Stick with garter stitch projects for awhile and you will be happy as a clam! I promise!

    And no. I do not need 7 Jordanian cats. The language barrier would be just too much for poor Sagwa. Although the fact that you spay them in your kitchen is awe inspiring.

  3. March 6, 2009 3:58 pm

    I feel your pain. Recently I turned my back on a project due to a boucle yarn that refused to cooperate. The boucles would tangle around themselves on their way from the skein to my fingers – and refused to be untangled, full stop. Crocheting with the yarn that didn’t get tangled on the way was just as aggravating. I’m not ashamed to admit defeat when the alternative to giving up is constant stress. I crochet for relaxation. 😛

Leave a Reply

