Skip to content

Tough Love

February 4, 2009
tags:

Laura’s Blog Entry

Now that you are all satisfied with the wall-to-wall content of the last few entries, I will now slyly slip in some knitting stuff. I promise it won’t hurt a bit.

I just finished up my second Jackyll & Hide Hat from Knitty.com. This one was done to the recipient’s specifications of navy with white stitching. Ethan is going to be the coolest and the scariest firefighter in the city.

Pardon my makeshift display photos. There was no one available to model it for me. At least no one who would ever dream of putting such a scary hat over her pretty little face.

I was so overjoyed to be able to hand it over to its new owner that I celebrated by casting on an overdue baby gift. We were in the middle of a snow emergency, so I had to get resourceful and come up with a pattern from the internet, yarn from my current stash and a size of needles that I already owned. Not always easy. Especially because I don’t have tons of yarn lying around.

But it worked out really well and I came up with this one:


It is the Cheerful Baby Hat, and the pattern is free on Lionbrand.com. I thought a cotton hat would be nice for the latter part of the winter and the beginning of spring. Love the taupe and berry combo. I just have to give it a wash and then pop it in the mail.

I finished up the Crazy Socks 2.0. I am super happy with how they turned out.

See those matching stripes? Nirvana. I am dying to start a new pair. Unfortunately the pair I fell in love with in my new sock book, Sensational Knit Socks, calls for Elle Mexican Wave in Blue Rush. This yarn appears to be discontinued, or only available in Europe. (If it really ever existed at all. I have my doubts.)

If any of you knitters out there have a stash of it, or know where I can order some I’d love to hear about it. I adore the colorway, and I fear my affection will only grow now that I know I can’t haz it. [Darn you LOLCats. Get out of my head!]

In the knitting frustration department – I finished up the color work for the sides of my Napalese Tote Bag.

But I am not having a good time doing the piped edgework. Not a good time AT ALL. First of all, I have to pick up 240 stitches for the next part. TWO HUNDRED FORTY.  Even if you don’t know what it means to “pick up stitches,” you know that doing anything 240 times gets tedious. Well nearly anything.

So you can imagine my horror when the work slipped out of my hands, and a good 50 or so stitches came unraveled on the last row of the piping. Usually picking up dropped stitches is a pain, but not impossible. But this project uses a very small size 2 needles and fingering weight (thin) yarn. And it was bloody hard I tell you! I put the stitches back on the needle, fishing each one back through using a tiny crochet hook, and then chucked the whole deal in a ziplock and haven’t touched it since. Hopefully it’s learned its lesson and will now cooperate with me. Otherwise, this nice supply of yarn in the kit will become about 60 pairs of mittens instead of a bag. You hear that, Napalese bag? I mean you!

You have to practice tough love on these projects. I learned that on the black sweater I started last summer. Remember that one? Haven’t seen it lately, have you? Neither have I. It is enjoying an extended timeout in the craft closet. A long and lonely timeout with all my scrapbooking supplies. Neither of us has blinked yet. I’ll keep you posted.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2009 1:43 pm

    The hat is awesome, and Ethan loves is… its a big hit. thanks!

    • February 15, 2009 1:49 pm

      So glad he likes it! Of course the weather had to warm up as soon as I gave it to you… For his sake I hope it gets a little colder again before spring!

Leave a Reply

