Skip to content

SOP026 – I Can Haz Battlestar?

February 1, 2009

Download this episode

Show Notes
For our February podcast we kick off with some Journey and it just goes downhill from there. Guns and Roses and ELO make an appearance and all hell breaks loose. OK, not really. And we certainly don’t mention wanting any iTunes reviews. Laura admits she is LOLCats-challenged, Neil digs into Battlestar Galactica’s final season, all while Depeche Mode put finishing touches on their new album.  Get comfy while we play an electronic mix of The Sleep (hey, that’s us!), The Clik Clik, Venus Hum and Saint Etienne. Oh my gosh, look! Is that C. Thomas Howell?

Music Guide

“Take Me”
Artist: The Sleep
Album: Never in a Million Years
http://thesleep.net
http://www.myspace.com/thesleepmusic
iTunes

“Little ‘L”
Artist: The Clik Clik
http://www.myspace.com/theclikclik

“Medieval Forest”
Artist: Mari Smith

“Xanadu”
Artist: Neilson Hubbard with Venus Hum
Album: Lynne Me Your Ears – A Tribute to the Music of Jeff Lynne
http://venushum.com
www.myspace.com/venushum
iTunes

“Lightning Strikes Twice”
Artist: Saint Etienne
Album: Tales from Turnpike House
http://saintetienne.com
http://www.myspace.com/saintetienne
iTunes

Misc. Goodies and Links

If you say I asked, I’ll just deny it, but Would you please write us a review on iTunes? Thank you. Thank you. And again, Thank you.

Do you Twitter? Swell! Follow us at http://twitter.com/smithsocc.

Subscribe to our new music blog at http://www.thesleep.net. We will be posting all the latest Sleep related news.

Movies Discussed in This Episode
Slaves of New York

Zombie Diaries

Death Race

Gallery of Guys Neil Finds Attractive

Depeche Mode Ticket Stub Group on Flickr

Now you can add your own Flickr photos of your stubs!

The obligatory Depeche Mode Link
http://www.depechemode.com

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Cassie permalink
    February 3, 2009 9:05 am

    Hey Smiths! Am I the only one having trouble getting the episode to download in itunes?

  2. February 3, 2009 9:39 am

    Hi Cassie. It downloaded fine for me on Sunday AM. Might be a temporary iTunes issue? Anyway, I’ll put a direct download link below for you. If it doesn’t appear I’ll email it to you. Thx for letting us know!

    [audio src="http://m.podshow.com/media/6131/episodes/141889/smithsoccasional-141889-01-31-2009.m4a" /]

  3. February 5, 2009 9:49 am

    Another joy on the podwaves. Loved the show, started well with the best track off ‘The Sleep’ album and got better, the absolute peak being Neil’s rendition of Xanadu at the very end. Sublime.

    Interesting to hear your observations on the way they are shifting the Battlestar Galactica graphic design elements around, I will pay more attention next time but I think you may have different idents in the USA to us over here.

    As ever it was lovely hearing a bit of Venus Hum, that is a great cover version of a great song from a camp-tastic movie. We have provisional plans for a Xanadu party but Christmas got in the way. I will make it happen, you have re-awakened the passion. How amazing would it be if VH could got a support slot for DM! Funny you mentioned Ladytron, someone I work with at Apple did some remixes for them!

    Your themes get better and better… Duran’s ‘Rio’ for the DM news was exquisite! I laughed out loud! And a great closing track from lovely Saint Etienne. They have another ‘Best of’ due out soon which must be their 10th but a pretty box is promised and being a design whore I may not be able to resist.

    I have put iSay iSay iSay to bed. But, it’s not all bad news. I felt there was too much elapsed time to bring it back so something brand new is coming. Wait and see… xx

    PS: the show downloaded fine for me too.

    • February 5, 2009 10:26 am

      Hello, Guru! I can rest easy now that I have your approval on the episode – don’t want the Guru unhappy. You wouldn’t like him when he’s unhappy! Hey, I do what I can for the Hum. Tony nods tolerantly ever time I ask him if we can play something. Neil gets credit for the “Rio” idea, although I put in the part about Martin’s hair and Dave’s shoes. Couldn’t resist. I understand about iSay iSay iSay, may it rest in peace. Sometimes you have to start afresh. I greatly anticipate what is to come… Oh, and I’m gonna have to pester you to get on the Twitter. If you will have a new project, it’s a great place to promote it. And to promote Soft Octopus. I will email you a proper nagging invitation.
      Love and Kisses,
      Laura

  4. February 8, 2009 2:38 am

    Fan Boy!!!!????

    srsly?

  5. February 8, 2009 10:17 am

    Just remember I love you, Daniel Brewer.
    Laura

  6. February 8, 2009 10:30 am

    Daniel, I appreciate your angst over this “Fan Boy” issue – really I do. But things are not as they appear. So don’t lose hope – and stay tuned – because all will be revealed for you in our next podcast.

  7. February 8, 2009 10:41 am

    That sounds ominous. I’m scared.

  8. Cassie permalink
    February 8, 2009 3:36 pm

    Thanks. I was able to download it that way. I even tried deleting my subscription and resubscribing and it still gives me an error. It re-downloaded previous episodes just fine though. *fretting* I hope it won’t give me trouble next month.

Leave a Reply

