Skip to content

New Knitting Projects

January 11, 2009
tags:

Laura’s Blog Entry

Finishing the Christmas knitting brings a feeling of satisfaction that is to be savored. And how does one celebrate an achievement of this sort? By starting new projects, or course! Some of them are even for me!

First of all, I am working up another incarnation of the Jackyll & Hide hat from Knitty.com. I’m too lazy to link to the pattern. You know how to search.

As I mentioned in an earlier post, it is for Susan P.’s husband, Ethan. He is a firefighter, so he requested a navy version with white stitching so he can wear it with his uniform. Does that make you smiles as much as it does me?

Next, I ripped out the Crazy Socks I made last year.

They were just too big. I found another pattern and started over. I have kind of combined a number of basic sock patterns on this one. Version 2.0 seems to fit quite well and I am hopeful. Once I get a pair made that work for me I can really go crazy with my new sock book. I’ll be able to adapt those patterns, if needed, to get a better fit. Note the first pair was toe up. These are top down. Variety is the spice of life. Except when the striping doesn’t match – like on the first pair. I matched up the stripes this time and we can all sleep better at night.

Finally, I started on the Napalese bag kit that was a gift. It’s my first attempt at stranded colorwork. Quite fussy, but I like a challenge.

I am getting into the rhythm of it now and can sit and do a couple rows in one sitting. The rows on the banding are 240 stitches long and I’m using size 2 needles, which are pretty small. Not for the faint of heart. Or the impatient. The colors in the kit are really pretty – reds, and pinks and purples. It’s fun to use colors that I usually don’t work with for a change.

As you can see, I have barely gotten started. That’s OK. Mari’s dance starts up again at the end of the month. So I will have lots of sitting and knitting time. Sounds like it’s a good thing my Crunchless Ads DVD is on its way. Gotta counteract all the sitting.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2009 10:42 am

    that bag is beautiful! and i know i’ll sleep better knowing your stripes match up. i completely understand.

  2. January 11, 2009 10:53 am

    Thanks, Divy. I knew another knitter would understand. I saw on your blog that you are spinning. I may need to consult you – I really want to learn!

Leave a Reply

