Skip to content

New Year… Meh…

January 4, 2009

Laura’s Blog Entry

Off the bat I’ve got to confess that I’m not feeling particularly peppy right now. Friday we all came down with a bad cold and have been in various states of miserable, asleep, doped up on cold meds, asleep, crabby, and comatose ever since.

I have plans people. And this is interfering with them. I have stuff to accomplish. Files to purge. Receipts to get entered. Financial plans to make. Organizing to do.

At least there have been a few lucid hours where I got lots of knitting done. I’ll be photographing my three current projects soon, but at least I can share the gifts I made for Christmas now that they have been gifted.

My sister lives in the northern part of the state near Lake Erie and gets tons of snow and colder weather than we do, so I made her a cute ear warmer.

This pattern is by Vickie Howell (from the DIY Network show “Knitty Gritty.”) This pattern was published in the November/December issue of Crochet Today! Magazine.

I couldn’t get the yarn specified in the pattern nearby, so I substituted Paton’s Classic Wool. The gauge was a bit smaller, so I had to use a bigger crochet hook and add a few more rounds, but it turned out pretty cute.

Next, I did a handbag for my mother.

It was a free pattern from Lion Brand – the Around Town Felted Bag #60411A.
Although I made it larger in width. That was enough crochet for me for a while. I really do prefer knitting.

Finally, I made a pillow for my niece on Neil’s side of the family. It turned out so cute!

Oh and Neil got crafty. I wanted to enter the chenille stem smackdown from “It’s Not Us It’s You.” I bought all the stuff, but then lost steam. Neil whipped this up in a mere 30 minutes. Must be nice.

Oh Hello Kitty, you rock! I shoved her into the Christmas tree so we could enjoy her for the holidays.

OK, the meds are wearing off so I better get this posted. I can tell that cranky is minutes away. You don’t want to see that, trust me.

More crafty projects, soon though…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

