Skip to content

Oh Yes, Even More Christmas!

December 30, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

Only a few more holiday-themed entries. I swear. Neil said, “You blogged about Christmas again?” yesterday, so I think I better stop soon. But not before we see the gift bounty!

Here’s Mari’s loot.

Thank goodness Santa came through with the new dance bag and two tutus Mari just decided she wanted at the last minute. That Santa, he’s good. She also got loads of video games for her Nintendo DS and books and a set of her very own cooking utensils with a fairies cookbook. I think it’s for making magical food, not how to cook fairies. But then I haven’t read it, so who knows.

Every year there seems to be an overriding theme to the gifts that arises. This year seems to have been The Year of the Sock.

I got some soft Alpaca socks.

Neil got some cozy sock… and some new slippers.

And then there’s my loot:

Note the fuzzy socks. And the sock knitting book. See? A theme. This book looks so amazing. There are really cute socks for kids in it, too. Another gift was a killer knitting kit from the in-laws for a 17-color Napalese bag that is to-die-for. I estimate that I will finish the bag in about 2020 or so, but it will be beautiful when it’s done. Mari got me the immersion blender. I also got cash for my Depeche Mode Tour Fund. Don’t worry Martin. I’ll be there!

Here’s Neil’s loot:

He scored on the audiobook, book and DVD categories. Plus who doesn’t love some Choxie chocolates? Oops, the cat snuck in the background on that one…

We had a delicious Christmas dinner…

Lighted the advent wreath…

…and enjoyed our day immensely. Now I need to get back to another knitting project. A skeleton hat for Susan P’s husband. The lovely, crafty Susan P. who can be found hanging around on the Sew and Tell Group on Facebook, or making cool magnets for me for Christmas.

Hope everyone had a wonderful holiday and is enjoying some downtime! We’ve got a few more days of R & R before Neil heads back to work. We’ll see just how many episodes of “Highlander” on the DVR we can watch between now and then. You know there can be only one.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2008 7:16 pm

    Looks like you had a super Christmas! Santa sure is good at wrapping presents… the green ribbon is lovely. Happy New Year in advance. 🙂

  2. ammanmom permalink
    January 1, 2009 5:45 am

    Merry, Merry Christmas!!!!! Where did you find that advent wreath? I love it. Mine went to storage…grrr…..
    Glad you had great holidays!!!!!
    Happy new year!

    • January 1, 2009 8:55 am

      Hi Kim! We got it at one of the church-supply superstores a number of years ago. Sorry about all your holiday stuff being stuck in storage. I bet you got creative and came up with something festive!

  3. January 6, 2009 9:31 am

    A hand mixer! I got mine last Christmas and use it a lot more than I though I would!

    Thanks for sharing all the pictures, I don’t know how I didn’t see this post…maybe too much yule tide cheer or booze.

  4. January 6, 2009 10:01 am

    Nessa, and this one comes with a mini-food processor! Mine died a year or so ago and I’ve missed it. I use it lots for salad dressings, pesto, etc. Hope you have a new stove soon and can get back to proper cooking!

Leave a Reply

