Skip to content

And the Campaign Continues…

December 20, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

As part of my continuing campaign to get Venus Hum to open at least one show for Depeche Mode on the Tour of the Universe, here is some concert footage from when they toured with Blue Man Group.

Neil and I got to see this show a few times and it was really, really fun. We also got to hang out backstage (which I have mentioned numerous times before and WILL mention again) with Venus Hum and have dinner with the cast and crew. Even more fun.

FYI, the singer’s name ain’t Venus. It’s Annette. Venus Hum is a three-piece band. In the video you can see the other two guys – they are behind the keyboards in the silver jackets.

I know the video’s eight minutes long, but it’s the weekend. What else have you got to do?

Dig the light-up dress, man. It’s cool.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Toni permalink
    December 28, 2008 8:52 pm

    I saw this performance of you in Grand Prairie, TX and I have the DVD of the BMG performance out there – and this was my FAVORITE part of the show – that and the cool merry-go-round of statues that look like they’re dancing when spun. =) Your performance was PHENOMENAL! Your voice was very powerful and you seem to be having such a great time. I’m literally watch the HDNet version of a later concert by the BMG and the girl they’re using for this song greatly pales in comparison! You were wonderful… and yeah – the dress is fabulous! I’d LOVE to get one!!!

    Toni (a girl) in Texas

    • December 29, 2008 8:27 am

      Hi Toni! I will pass your comment on to the band. You are obviously a person of extremely good taste! Thanks for weighing in on this and hopefully all this good will gest VH a spot on the Depeche Mode tour.

  2. December 30, 2008 7:19 pm

    This brings back memories. We fell in love with Venus Hum on this tour. And I still want that light-up dress!!

  3. Bryan permalink
    December 31, 2008 5:17 pm

    Thanks for bringing back the memories of that concert. I had no clue who they were, and they blew me away. Now I am going to have to bug Tony to see if he still has that silver jacket he wore in the video.

  4. December 31, 2008 6:27 pm

    Ha! Actually Blue Man have custody of the silver jackets as well as the dress. Sad, but true.

Leave a Reply

