Skip to content

Recipe Filing System

December 13, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

OK so I’m back, and with riveting content, as you can see. I did a massive recipe storage overhaul a month or two ago. I have to be able to get my hands on a recipe really fast while I am putting together the weekly meal plan or I seriously lose my grip and my head explodes. Sometimes cooking is fun and artistic and creative, and sometimes it is drudgery. Meal planning for every day is drudgery. This system is functioning quite well and it is easier to get through the task.

I keep most of my newer recipes in two binders. These are organized by topic. They are the tried and true; the food that we like to eat on a regular basis.

Mari has decorated the dessert one for me.

Recipes are in plastic sleeves in the binders. Each week I browse the entrees, side dishes, etc. and plan the meals. I pull out the ones I plan to use and put them in a weekly folder so I can find them quickly when it’s time to cook.

The second half of the system is a box of recipes to try.

These are ones I have found on the internet or in magazines. They can live in here until I get tired of our regular fare. They are organized in the same categories as the binders.

At the back of this box I reworked my files for home improvement projects. Whenever we get ready to start a project I can pull out ideas I’ve run across and use them as a springboard for a plan.

You can’t imagine the bags of pages I recycled once I purged this box. Now it is down to a manageable level. And in the process I found Martha Stewart’s recipe for gingerbread ornaments and icing, so as soon as we get the Christmas tree up guess what I can’t wait to do?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Bryan permalink
    December 13, 2008 6:03 pm

    Oh come on.. that is SO last century? Where is the computerized system. I mean you have a blog, a podcast and Macs, right?

    Of course this way you can’t lose them all in one system crash, eh?

    • December 14, 2008 10:05 am

      I need hard copies! Plus I splash too much when cooking and can’t keep a computer in the kitchen. Sorry to disappoint you…

      PS – Thanks for the cookies and buckeyes! If it weren’t 9 AM I’d be digging into them already this morning!

  2. December 18, 2008 4:37 pm

    You are the organization queen, Laura!

Leave a Reply

