Skip to content

Now It’s Christmas!

December 7, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

It’s been a whirlwind the last few days. This time of year, no matter how much I plan and organize and prepare, stuff happens that that pushes us to our limits.

Mari has a holiday show each year. In the past it has been the weekend of Thanksgiving. This year, it was a week later. No matter what weekend it is though, she is ALWAYS is sick. Always. And it ALWAYS catches me by surprise. Because I am hopeful and positive that THIS year that isn’t going to happen. But it did.

But we did what needed to be done. One of the benefits of having a hyperactive child is that very little slows them down. She has this never-ending supply of energy during her waking hours. So she plowed through all her shows and did an amazing job.

I sat in the audience for one of the performances. For the whole show! This is the first time I’ve ever been able to do that. In the past she has needed help with costume changes. I helped for the other two shows, but another mom (actually 4 moms) covered for me so I could sit with Neil and get all misty-eyed.

OK, I was flat out weeping. Heck I started crying when the little kids came out dressed as snowflakes. And they annoy the crap out of me backstage, running up and down the halls and squealing. But up on stage they rip your heart out.

Then Mari came out as the bunny, who gets chased by a dog in the pine forest. So cute. It’s the first time she got to play character with a personality. She did great! She also played a horse, but was in and out of the costume so quickly that I never got a photo. Finally she was a courtier in the finale scene.

After the show Neil awarded her some specialty chocolates she had been eyeing. It was a great substitution for flowers in her book.

We all went home and crashed. I slept for more than three hours for the first time in days. And today I never got out of my pajamas. Now that the shows are over, we can start our Christmas traditions.

First up: Watching The Bishop’s Wife, upstairs in my fortress of solitude. I think I’ll even invite Neil and Mari this time. Just for kicks.

* Top photo is Mount Washington Water Tower, in Cincinnati – bedazzled for the holidays!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sue permalink
    December 7, 2008 10:09 pm

    Ahh Laura, as a vetran of many Christmas shows, I can truly relate to your post. The tiny tots dressed as mosquitoes or chickens or whatever always have me saying, “‘what am I crying for? They’re not even my kids.”

    Our Christmas show is next Saturday. Sarah is only in 4 dances this year as she cut back a lot of classes. But in the past there have been 8 or 9 dances in one show, that’s a lot of costume changes with me running back and forth to the change rooms to help. Thankfully I don’t need to do that any more, Sarah can do things herself and she is one of the helpers for the young ones when she’s not performing so more mums can sit in the audience misty-eyed and trying to hold it together.

    Sue
    x

  2. December 9, 2008 11:30 am

    Only 4 dances. Yikes! I thought 3 was a lot! This was definitely a a milestone moment for us. I tried not to worry if she was getting changed properly and if she was going to make it out for her cue. All was well! Whew!

  3. December 9, 2008 12:37 pm

    Congratulations to Mari, Superstar! Smart girl, preferring chocolates to flowers. 😉

Leave a Reply

