Skip to content

Window Dressing

November 10, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

Fall is the season of projects. And project number one was dining room draperies! I got a gift certificate for Lowes (a home improvement center, for anyone outside the US) last Christmas and decided I was going to get everything I needed to make draperies for our large window. I didn’t like any of the readymade panels and they were too expensive anyway, so here’s my solution: Canvas drop cloths.

I wanted something neutral that I could use in a couple of rooms. Plus I only had fifty dollars to spend. The rod, hardware and all the fabric were within the budget.

I was so happy with those that I used the same idea in the kitchen.

I reused my existing café rods, but bought café rings because tab tops are so 1990’s. This transformation called for spray paint.

A lot of work, but frugal. Someday there will be a lovely kitchen surrounding the draperies. I can almost see it now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

