Skip to content

At a Standstill

October 26, 2008
tags:

Laura’s Blog Entry

Time for a knitting update, don’t you think? I’ve finished a couple things and am poised to start a few more. First of all, I did a couple of scarves for Christmas for my nieces.

I used the pattern Ska Scarf from the book Pretty in Punk. They are super easy garter stitch scarves. It was fun choosing the colors. I used Lion Cotton-Ease, a yarn I love working with. Colors used were (top) cactus, stone, taupe, and berry and (bottom) lake, terracotta, taupe and lime.

Upon finishing the scarves I found myself projectless. I can’t tell you the feeling of panic this caused! I have two projects I want to start, but after furious swatching I found that I needed some smaller needles. And I couldn’t just buy what I needed in the store. Horror of horrors! I quickly placed an online order, and should get them in the next couple of days. But until then, I’ll just have to dream about making the following:

Neil’s Christmas Hat

This is a pattern from Knitty.com. Cooler than crap if you ask me. Because once you rock the Mohawk Hat, you need a skeleton, too.

Secondly I am going to try my hand at a pair of mittens for Mari. Hand. Mittens. Get it?

Of course I didn’t have the right size needles for this either, so they were added to the online order. This pattern booklet came from the lovely Random Nicole, and she also showed me the skeleton pattern. She is all kinds of awesome.

To tide me over until my tools arrive I may just do a bit of experimentation with amigurumi, the Japanese art of knitting or crocheting small stuffed animals and anthropomorphic creatures. Check out this example of Star Wars amigurumi. Ah, the possibilities are endless! I will now slink back to my laboratory and begin cobbling together plans for certain electronic British trio. Muh-ha-ha-ha-ha!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

