Skip to content

The One About the Blue Dress

October 15, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

As many of you may know, Neil and I are working on an album. You may also know that we are including one cover song, Depeche Mode’s “Blue Dress,” alongside all our original songs. It is a very special song to me and was the first song we ever attempted using my vocals.

“Blue Dress” has always been one of my favorite DM songs and to be honest is really one of my favorite songs of all time. It is the perfect example of a simple lyric, combined with a killer melody. Layer on a mysterious emotional component and BINGO! You’ve got an amazing song.

Well my relationship with “Blue Dress” has gotten strained the past couple months. During a recent illness I lost my voice for quite an extended period. And when it came back let’s just say things were just not the same. The vocal range I had worked so hard to master for the song was gone. My vibrato was gone. Overall my voice was weak and sounded really disappointing. As I am a determined sort, I jumped back in and started working on the song like I had when we first started trying out vocals.

Guess what? It ain’t nearly as exciting the second time around. It’s all fun and games when you have no deadline looming ahead. But we are down to the last two songs, and as soon as these are done Neil can finalize the mix and send it out to be mastered. The pressure of knowing that I was holding things up was pretty intense. Neil was very low-key about it but I knew it was taking FOREVER.

Well last night we gave recording another try. It was rocky, but we got down some acceptable takes. I just refuse to skimp on this song. If I don’t feel it’s the best I can do, I will not put it out. This is especially true because it is a DM cover.

Mercifully, Neil could reuse the extensive harmonies we recorded on the demo and I didn’t have to redo those. It was just the lead vocal we needed to capture, using the microphone we’ve employed for the rest of the album.

It is a huge relief to wake up today and know that I have that one done. I reserve the right to tweak something if I don’t like it in the final mix, but I didn’t notice anything that stood out upon the first listen.

OK, now I’m nervous. I better listen again before I fully relax. I’ll be back…

One Comment leave one →
  1. jackalberson permalink
    October 15, 2008 10:07 pm

    Brilliant tune! I love the Martin’s guitar work on that track!!

Leave a Reply

