Skip to content

They Don’t Call It Electronic for Nothing

October 8, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

Depeche Mode’s upcoming album and tour has put me in a bit of a frenzy. I am listening to music like mad, working on my vocals for the record, and trying to otherwise harness this energy for good instead of evil. You know, evil. Like spending hours on end Googling “Tour of the Universe.”

One little tidbit from the press conference that got my attention was when the band talked about using lots and lots of analog synth equipment on the album. Martin said that they spend most of their time trying to synch the analog stuff with the modern stuff. I never have been that much of a techie, but suddenly I’m getting more and more interested in the electronics of it all.

Our friend Tony is an electronic musician in the band Venus Hum and so we get to witness the magic of a working recording studio when we visit his house. All the plugs and wires are quite baffling to me; yet intriguing. So today, in the spirit of what Depeche Mode is currently experiencing while they craft their 12th studio album, I thought I’d post a video Tony did which demonstrates the process. It’ll make you appreciate the work that goes into an electronic album and what an incredible uber-geek it takes to make the music sound this good.

In the clip, Tony is working on one of Venus Hum’s new, unreleased songs. I can’t play the song for you, but you can get a feel for it in the video. Let me just say that the song is kickass and will make you dance in your chair.

See if you don’t think Venus Hum would be a perfect complement to DM on the Tour of the Universe. Hear that, the powers that be? I have made my recommendation. Make it so.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2008 11:50 am

    Very cool. I’ve heard about VH before. Looks like I’ll be checking them out more tonight when I’m able!

    I’d like to see a tour similar to Curiosa….many bands….many stages…and Depeche on the main stage at the end. I went to Curiosa and WOMAD (back in the day – Peter Gabriel’s many staged show) and thoroughly enjoyed them both.

  2. October 9, 2008 5:14 pm

    Hi Lauchlin – Enjoy the Hum! A DM many stage festival – interesting idea! I went to Curiosa, too. Very fun.

  3. jackalberson permalink
    October 10, 2008 5:57 pm

    I have been meaning to comment on how much I adore Venus Hum’s music. It’s inspirational, too, to see another electronic group from the same neck of woods. Opening for them is a personal dream of mine. 🙂

  4. October 10, 2008 6:24 pm

    Hi Jack! They are amazing live. I mean amazing. I’ve seen them totally win over crowds that had no idea who in the heck they were. The music is infectious!

Leave a Reply

