Skip to content

Aubergine

September 17, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

We have been drowning in eggplant the last three weeks. I’ll admit, in the past eggplant was something I probably cooked once a year. Last week I made eggplant parmesan. I’ll post that recipe next. Yesterday I make baba ghanoush.

I used Tyler Florence’s recipe. First I grilled the eggplant. This was more than I needed, so I froze half of it for later use.

I also made a batch of delicious hummus. For all you Rachel Ray-haters out there, get over it. It’s Rachel’s recipe and is the best hummus recipe I’ve found. Really good. In fact, in a blind taste-test, five out of five Rachel Ray-haters preferred this hummus to their usual hummus. So there. OK, there was no blind taste-test, but everyone I feed this to likes it. Period.

My tweaks:
Save a little of the chickpea liquid. I add it in at the end to give a slightly thinner consistency.

She doesn’t specify exactly, but I use 1Tablespoon of the Olive Oil and 1/4 teaspoon of the salt.

It’s great on a sandwich with cucumber, shredded carrot, tomato slices and lettuce.

I christened yesterday “Cooking Day” and also made a grilled whole chicken, cooked some butternut squash, blanched and froze green beans and started another batch of Mari’s favorite homemade Ritzy Chicken Nuggets. These were a huge success and are from the recipe by Nigella Lawson.  Food Network, I love you.

I made the nuggets, froze them on a tray, then bagged them for later baking. No frying involved. I found that adding a bit of olive oil to the buttermilk before rolling in the crumbs made them a little crispier. The crumbs also needed some salt and pepper. They take about 20 minutes to bake, but the quality is far superior to anything you can buy at the grocery.

Excuse me now while I pass out from exhaustion.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2008 7:41 pm

    This only confirms why I wanted to be adopted! The food network is like my church.

  2. September 18, 2008 10:01 am

    Hi Nessa! You know I swear I gain weight just watching Food Network. How can that be?

  3. August 5, 2010 1:12 pm

    It’s a great time of year to be making baba ghanoush with eggplant from the garden or farmers markets.

    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/08/04/michaels-baba-ghanoush-and-toasted-pita-chips/

Leave a Reply

