Skip to content

Four and Twenty Blueberries Baked in a Pie

September 3, 2008
tags: ,

Laura’s Blog Entry

Because blackbirds in a pie would just be gross. Blueberries are in season and reasonable priced. Every year at this time I do a blueberry pie. I use Martha Stewart’s recipe; I think it was from the magazine, years ago. With one tweaks: A touch of cinnamon. I always add cinnamon to anything with blueberries or strawberries. Not much. Just a small amount brings out the fruit flavor, but doesn’t really taste cinnamon-y. I even put a shake of cinnamon in my strawberry/banana protein shake. It makes it taste sweeter without adding any sugar. I probably used about 1/4 teaspoon for the pie.

This time I cheated and used Pillsbury rolled pie crusts. Not bad for not being homemade. They look really pretty!

I don’t mess with an egg and milk wash for the top. I just brush on plain milk and it still gives a nice sheen.

There is still some left, but not for long. So far each day I’ve only made it to mid-morning before I dig into it. It’s fruit, right? Healthy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2008 2:51 pm

    DELISH! I love fresh fruit pie. Any kind. The Pillsbury crusts are great, I just started making my own crusts. YUM!

  2. September 3, 2008 3:32 pm

    could i come over for a slice? that looks incredibly tasty, i can’t stand it! you are so inspiring…i think i’ll follow your lead and make my own pie too.

    cheers & thanks for sharing your loveliness!

    xo diane

  3. September 4, 2008 6:45 am

    Hey Kevin – you overachiever, making your own crust! I have often done Martha’s pastry that goes with this recipe. It is quite good. Not too hard if done in the food processor. JUST DON’T OVER PROCESS IT!

    Diane, I finished it off last night, but you can still stop by anytime! I’ll show you my DM memorabilia. It’s be swell! Hope you make your own pie.

Leave a Reply

