Skip to content

Quesadillas

August 28, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

And it is with this recipe that I step off the vegetarian train and directly into the path of an oncoming slab of bacon. In all fairness, Neil formulated this recipe after having them at Funky’s Café, a now defunct (deFUNKT, get it?) Cincinnati Restaurant.

Go ahead and make your version vegetarian. See if I care. Hey roasted red peppers would be delicious in it, wouldn’t it?

Quesadillas

2 flour tortillas – large size
2/3 cup shredded cheese – we like a 5 cheese Mexican blend
1/4 cup shredded cooked chicken
1-2 slices of bacon, cooked and crumbled
1 Tablespoon diced green chilies (the kind from the can)
Taco sauce and/or salsa
Butter

Heat a skillet to medium high heat. The skillet must be big enough to accommodate your tortillas. Duh.

Lightly butter one side of one of the tortillas. When the pan is hot, assemble the ingredients as follows:

Place the tortilla butter side down into the pan. Quickly layer on the cheese, chicken, bacon, and green chilies. Evenly dollop on some taco sauce – as much as you would like. You can also use salsa, but we prefer the taco sauce.

Butter the other tortilla and place butter side up on top of the other ingredients. At this point it should be ready to flip, but lift it a bit with a spatula and check the bottom. If it is getting lightly brown, you’re set.

Flip the whole thing over. Good luck on that. We flip it onto a plate and then slide back into the pan because we are wimps.

Give it a minute or so to brown on the other side. Transfer to a plate and cut into wedges with a pizza cutter. Top with additional taco sauce or salsa.

Note: We divide up the rest of the can of green chilies into small plastic containers and freeze it. That way we are all ready to go with the perfect amount for the next batch. You’re welcome.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2008 8:07 pm

    This sounds delicious! I am so going to have to try this.

    Laura, you won’t remember me, but I used to work with you! My mom was in town recently and we went shopping, and she was debating replacing all her pots and pans with Calphalon (or All Clad- she can’t decide), and I just had one of those random flashbacks. “Whatever happened to Laura? She was cool.” And I win at Google. 🙂

  2. August 31, 2008 8:29 pm

    Hi Kim!
    You do win at Google – well done! You have paid me the ultimate compliment, to be remembered as cool. I am old and brain dead now, so you’ll have to refresh my memory. Did you do Christmas duty at WS? Please don’t tell me that you were a full-time employee or I’ll have to throw myself off a bridge in shame! Parenting has taken all my functioning brain cells and turned them to mush…

  3. Donell (rustidonell) permalink
    September 1, 2008 1:48 am

    Mmmm looks good. As a veg head here…I could totally make this with my fake soy bacon and it would just about be almost as tasty!

  4. September 1, 2008 10:05 am

    Well, it’s not a lie to say I did work at Christmas time (I don’t want you to jump off a bridge). 😉 I was full-time, but not for that long- just a little over a year, so it’s not a matter of lost brain cells. Just life! 🙂

  5. September 4, 2008 6:47 am

    OK, so I have to face the fact that I am officially brain dead. I was pregnant while I worked there. Can I blame that?

Leave a Reply

