Skip to content

How To Lose the First Two Weeks of August

August 20, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

This should also be called:
Blogs I Read : Part 2

OK, so I’m really not going to talk that much about being sick. Mainly because I am sick to death of thinking about it. Let me just say I am feeling much, much better. Today has been the best day so far. Having to lie down every few hours was really cramping my style.

But before I move forward I did want to thank everyone. Thanks to all the people who brought us a week’s worth of delicious meals. Thanks to those who who helped watch Mari while we were dealing with drama. A special thanks to Andrew P. who mowed our lawn. I’m pretty sure he is some kind of angel who rides up on a motorcycle, mows your lawn and then borrows your Worx GT trimmer afterwards. Also thanks to everyone who sent me e-mails and Twitters and Facebook messages. It cheered me up so much to know you are all out there and you give a crap. Now I’m moving on before I get misty-eyed again.

Our activities are still kind of light, which makes for sad blog fare. Plus I have a podcast to write in the next few days. I didn’t think this one was going to happen, but last night I got a renewed sense of enthusiasm. Plus we got permission to play the band Client, so I am anxious to do so before they change their minds!

To keep you entertained, I did want to continue with a topic I stared a while ago: Blogs I Read. I started with food blogs. Well before I get too long of a list going, I want to mention my most favorite blog. The mother of all blogs, in my opinion.

It’s’ called Dooce and it’s written by Heather B. Armstrong, my hero. Heather is a graphic artist, writer, photographer, mother, and wife who is awesomely amazing, inspiring and super-real. She is everything I aspire to be as a blogger and as a person: honest and funny and genuine. She talks about and photographs everything in the world: her family, friends, food, design, children and dogs.

Oh the brilliant photos of her dogs!

In wigs. And shoes. And fairy wings.

Heather got into blogging quite early in the game and her archives go back until 2001. When she started she was a single woman and a web designer in LA, and now she’s married, has a daughter, lives in Utah and works as a blogger full-time. She was one of the first bloggers to lose her job because she wrote about her workplace on the interwebs. She’s kinda reckless like that. Which is the total opposite of me.

Which is why I love her. From afar. Through the tubes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2008 8:52 am

    Laura – wow, scary stuff you went through. So glad you’re better. Thank God for drugs, right?

    Dooce was at BlogHer. When we see each other, remind me to tell you about it. Strange mommy blogger tale.

    Take care and see you ’round. Glad you’re better but ease back into life- Debba

  2. August 21, 2008 9:30 am

    Thanks, Debba. I wondered if you’d run into Heather at BlogHer. She’s a character. Can’t wait to hear your story. Hopefully we’ll see you at the New Media Cincy in Sept.

Leave a Reply

