Skip to content

Where’s Laura?

August 8, 2008

Neil’s Blog Entry

Acute Pericarditis. Google it. Go ahead. I’ll wait.

As some of you may have heard, Laura’s been rather sick the last couple of days. We’ve all been getting over a particularly nasty cold. Well, it hit Laura quite a bit harder than the rest of us. After waking up at 2AM with chest pains, we found ourselves calling 911 a few nights ago. The EMTs checked her over and found nothing wrong, but by the following morning the chest pains were still bothering her. So it was off to the ER. Ain’t nothin’ like a big bag of fluids to make you feel so good!

Anyway, after some trial and error, Laura was diagnosed with Acute Pericarditis. For those of you who were too lazy to Google it when I said to earlier, it is basically a inflammation on the outer lining of the heart. Sounds scary as hell, I know, but it’s not life threatening and she should be totally back to normal in about a week or two.

We’re home now and she’s feeling much better. She actually ate something today. I’ve been running on adrenalin for the last two days so I think I’m going to collapse any minute now that she’s feeling better.

Our friends have graciously been watching Mari for the last couple of days. The guys at work have been great, letting me work from home all week and bringing us dinners. Not to mention that Laura’s now got some great narcotics and such to keep her happy and loopy and pain free.

Thanks everyone for your well wishes and prayers. They were very much appreciated.

Still with no pithy catchphrase,

Neil

UPDATE: 8/9/08
We had one more trip to the ER on Saturday because Laura was having more chest pains. They did some additional tests and now we’re home again. She’s very weak and kinda light-headed, but seems to doing okay with all the medicines.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2008 6:24 pm

    Laura, I’m sending all the good vibes I can for a speedy recovery.

    -walt

  2. August 14, 2008 5:28 pm

    Indeed, I will second Walt’s actions. Hope that you get better soon!

  3. August 15, 2008 7:59 am

    Daniel and Walt, thanks so much for your good wishes. I am up and about – albeit moving slowly. Everyone’s support has meant so much to me! There is a blog in my future… once I get just a bit more energy.

Leave a Reply

