Skip to content

Crafty, Crafty, Crafty

July 27, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

It’s been a productive summer so far, craft-wise. How about a little project update?

First up, new coaster colors! These will be on Etsy in the next week or so as soon as I felt up another batch. They are, left to right, “Jennifer” and “Tracey.”

Next up, I’ve made only a little progress on the washcloth.

I’ve been working on a super-secret gift quite a bit and it has a deadline, but I’ll get back to this since Mari is starting horse-riding camp this coming week and I’ll have knitting time while waiting for her at the park.

There’s also been some progress on the trinity stitch cardigan sweater:

Not a lot, but some. I’ll be back to it soon.

A new project I started on vacation is a cotton bath mat. I love it!

I think the pattern is out of the book Simple Crochet by Erika Knight. I will have to check. I returned the book to the library and didn’t write it down first. [10/28/08 That’s the wrong book. Now I have to figure out where I found it…] It’s made from really inexpensive cotton yarn, using two strands together. It’s nice and thick and will make a nice bath mat on our tile floor. The crochet hook is large, and the yarn is stiff, so my hand gets a bit sore after a few rows. But I can’t wait to finish and use it!

The Market Bag is done and looks great:

It was supposed to be all one color, but I had multiple skeins of left-over yarn, so I combined the colors. I like it better this way. The round shape is perfect for carrying around the skeins of wool for the coasters.

Finally, here’s a hint on my super-secret project.

I’ll post a photo of the finished product once it has been received by the recipient(s). He, she or they are blog readers, so I’m not showing any more of it yet! It’s been fun getting back to one of my older crafts for a change on this one.

All right, I think that’s it! Not bad considering I only work on this stuff a little bit each day. Slow and steady wins the race and all that. Some people are project knitters and some are process knitters. I think I am 50/50. I love the planning and completion stages. But I also enjoy the making. I think that is why I stick with things and follow through. Plus I am cheap, so I feel guilty if I have something sitting around that has never been finished. Maybe this is why I can’t get rid of the guilt in my life. It serves me well – occasionally. But that is a topic for a “Psychobabble” entry, not crafting, so I’ll stop before I get too far into that therapy session. Plus there in a new coaster colorway calling my name.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2008 11:00 am

    Wow, you’re a busy bee this summer! Everything looks great, and I especially like the market bag. A girls’ crochet weekend would be fun to have sometime, wouldn’t it? 🙂

  2. July 29, 2008 11:02 am

    Ooo, great idea! It’s only 5 hours either way!

  3. August 1, 2008 2:24 am

    Wow, that’s fancy

Leave a Reply

