Skip to content

I Am A Dork

July 21, 2008

Neil’s Blog Entry

As Laura and I have mentioned we are in the middle of some well-deserved (and well spent thus far) vacation time. Among several projects and fun things I’ve been doing is a project that truly screams to the world that in no uncertain terms I am indeed a dork. You know? A geek. A square.

I have been giving my recently purchased Optimus Prime a custom paint job.

I’ll let that sink in a bit before I continue. Any of you who thought I was cool because I make industrial goth music… I feel for you. It’s kinda like finding out that Kurt Cobain collected My Little Ponies.

So, rather than give you all the details of the week and a half spent airbrushing metallic paints, or the delicate hand-brushed work in all the gears and workings, or the careful application of the “weathering” effects needed to make it look more real, I thought I’d just post some pictures. I mean, I don’t wanna come off like some kind of loser or anything.

So as Laura is fond of saying… Don’t judge me.

Still with no pithy catchphrase,
Neil

3 Comments leave one →
  1. John permalink
    July 23, 2008 9:02 am

    Geek is the new Cool!

    This is about the coolest thing I’ve seen in a long time. My inner geek in riled.

  2. July 23, 2008 5:07 pm

    Thanks for the comments, John.

    Careful with the riled-up inner geek thing though… it can lead to very dark and disturbing places.

  3. July 25, 2008 2:19 pm

    Awesome paint job, especially the weathering.

    (Does that make me a geek too?)

Leave a Reply

