Skip to content

Tabbouleh

July 11, 2008
tags:

Laura’s Blog Entry

Finding lots of ways to use up the CSA bounty. Cooking a bunch the last two days. We also made a little trip to The Fresh Market yesterday for fun and browsing… and to supplement our ingredients for Tabbouleh and Stuffed Shells.

It is all part of our home vacation. Not doing any “normal” work stuff if we can help it. Doing miscellaneous projects if we feel like it. If I get a task done – yippee! Bonus! If not, who cares! I did get to work this morning cleaning 73 years of dirt off another portion of the basement floor. Today was Shop Vac day. Then it will require multiple moppings. Then I am sealing it so that it is easier to keep clean. Makes it feel less dungeon-y down there. My dream is to get a treadmill down there. I used one while we were at a hotel for a few day and loved it. All those flashing numbers got me feeling quite competitive with myself. I love walking outdoors, but in bad weather this would really help. Well, add that to the dream-on list.

Tabbouleh is a delicious cold vegetable salad that uses a good bit of cucumber, which we usually get each week and are tired of just eating on a regular salad. I love having the Tabbouleh for lunch like I did today. I added a smear of mashed avocado with lemon juice on the pita wedge and then piled on tons of Tabbouleh. Really yummy. And makes a great party appetizer.

If anyone would like the recipe I will email it to you. Can’t reprint it here. Up tomorrow: My recipe for vegetarian stuffed shells that even Neil will eat. No really!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2008 7:10 pm

    Hi Laura,

    I found your blog through the WordPress tag surfer and was sucked in by your Tabbouleh recipe! I’d love to try it (and promise not to post the recipe on my own blog) if you’re willing to share it you can email me at kikipics@yahoo.com

    Thanks!

  2. July 11, 2008 8:42 pm

    Hi Kiki! I am happy to send it to you. It is from a book, and therefore copyrighted, so I didn’t want to publish it. I am sending it now… Thanks for stopping by!

  3. July 14, 2008 4:39 pm

    I WANT THE RECIPE!

  4. July 18, 2008 11:42 am

    I finally had a chance to make this on Tuesday to eat on Wednesday- it was delicious! My husband had never had Tabbouleh before. He’s a little bit of a picky eater so I was hoping that he would enjoy it too. He loved it and even took the leftovers for lunch the next day. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe!

  5. July 18, 2008 11:53 am

    Kiki,
    That’s great! I’m always nervous when someone tries something I recommend. Glad you BOTH liked it.

Trackbacks

  1. Mmm, Tabbouleh « KikiVerde

Leave a Reply

