Skip to content

A Garden Variety Blog Entry

July 6, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

Amazing how much time there is to do other things when you stop doing all the normal things. We are officially in vacation mode. Here’s what that looks like around here:

Neil started his vacation on July 4th. I always have to keep in mind the decompression period that spans the time between when he stops working and when he begins relaxing. He has to mentally disengage from work mode. It wasn’t too bad this time. Usually it involves much more silly singing and strange voices.

I spent a good bit of time this weekend in the garden. The weather is not too hot, so it has been very pleasant. The herb garden was a jungle again. But no more. I uncovered some basil plants that had sprung up under the weeds. Score!

This year I am moving some things around. I had to move a huge bunch of lythrum that was next to where the hose hooks up. That way I could then more the hose storage thingy to the right, off of where it was presently located on top of my little paving stone path. Yea! I wanted to do that for 2 summers! Lots of digging involved. But it’s done.

I am even pulling out all the garden ornaments.

One of my favorite vacation traditions is to find a new garden decoration each year. I am hoping to track down a garden gnome this year to add to the display. I’m pretty sure I’m going to name him Fletch.

My teeny little tomato plant that came from my food co-op has yummy little red jewels on it.

Even the kitty is in vacation mode:

Time to set a chair right in the middle of the driveway, pop a Blue Moon in a beer cozy and admire my work.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Patrick permalink
    July 6, 2008 6:08 pm

    I am ashamed to say, but my parents have quite the collection of garden gnomes. They started the collection shopping at Ostendorf Flower & Garden Store in Hartwell. Could be a good place to start the gnome search.

  2. July 6, 2008 8:12 pm

    Thanks, Patrick! Sounds like a vacation destination…

  3. July 7, 2008 9:48 am

    If you need any assistance with the garden, or especially the gnome matchmaking, let me know. I would reconsider ‘Fletch’ as the wee lad’s name though.

  4. July 7, 2008 10:34 am

    Ok, but “Dave” seems to casual, “Alan” seems to formal and “Marty” goes across the stalker line. You see my dilemma!

    I enjoyed your gnome site. It’s not DM, but seems a worthy obsession.

  5. July 7, 2008 5:39 pm

    I enjoyed the read and the pictures. New gardening decorations seem to find there way into our yard each year also. I believe we end up with two or three new items a summer.

Leave a Reply

