Skip to content

Knitting Update

June 27, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

We’ve been doing lots of driving lately, and therefore I’ve had lots of knitting time. Seems as good a time as any to give an update on projects.

The Christmas Shawl is about 2/3 done, and is only worked on here at home since it is now so big and too hot to hold on my lap outdoors. I am working on it in the evenings when I sneak upstairs to my fortress of solitude to watch old movies on the DVR. The shawl takes lots of counting, and I’ve not been in a counting mood so it has taken a backseat to my crochet project.

This is the Market Bag I mentioned in an earlier post. I have been working on it the most of any of my projects and have gotten to the decreases for the handles. I can’t wait to be able to use it! I really like Lion’s Cotton Ease Yarn. It has a nice body to it. And gives good stitch definition.

I have also started making Mari some new washcloths. She is still using the ones we got when she was a baby. They are getting a bit small, so I am making her some nice linen ones in a medium size. I am using KnitPicks CotLin yarn, which I totally love.

I just did a knit two row / purl two row design for the first one. I may do a four and four pattern for another one. The color is Swan.

This one is from a pattern in the book Mason Dixon Knitting. It’s the Baby Genius Burp Cloth. I like the pattern and I don’t have to concentrate too much on it. That’s what I need for summer and travel knitting. The color for this one is Kohlrabi. So pretty.

Finally, I am still at work on the coaster and came up with two new colorways. They still need to be felted, but here’s a sneak peak.

Tracey

Jennifer

I am naming them after the friends I chose the colors for. Shhh… don’t tell Jennifer. She doesn’t know yet.

We’re off in a bit for a pseudo performance Neil is doing tonight with his music and video work. He decided today to put the songs together live, so keep your fingers crossed. Nothing like a little stress to go along with your art!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2008 4:04 am

    How do they go from this to all fluffy and ‘felted’? Good colourways, can’t go wrong with orange.

  2. June 28, 2008 7:47 am

    It’s quite magical – you put them in the washing machine with hot water and agitate them- checking every 5 minutes. It’s really fun. They shrink a bit and get fluffy.

  3. Venus permalink
    June 28, 2008 8:28 am

    I love the market bag! You could totally sell those in your shop.

    ADORE the orange!!!!

    When do I get my own colorway? *pout* 😉

  4. June 28, 2008 8:38 am

    You get one when you invite me over for dinner so I can secretly check out your color scheme… or you can tell me your 4-5 fav colors. Either way…

Leave a Reply

