Skip to content

Pretty, Pretty Ballerina

June 9, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

It’s taken a week, but I finally feel almost human again. After a week of doing nothing, plus a fun weekend of recording vocals – SWEET! – and lots of rest, we are back on a daily schedule this lovely Monday morning.

We started out with Mari’s new chore chart.

(Click the chart for a slightly larger view.)

Every year we try to ratchet up her responsibilities starting in the summertime. Fall is very stressful for her, so getting some new chores under her belt works best in the summer. She is now up to $2 a week in allowance, and she has to earn it, baby!

She is now taking on folding clothes and cleaning the cat box. (Neil rejoices!) And some vacuuming! She has some allergy issues, so I’m working out exactly what cleaning she can do. This seems good for now. Each day she places a magnet on section of the chart to show she has completed the tasks.

I thought I would share some of the ideas we’ve discovered for motivating and rewarding good behavior. Mari has some special challenges and she has given me permission to blog about them. I’m working out how I want to tackle that topic, so once I feel comfortable with what I want to say, I’ll go into more detail. This chart is just one of the many tools that make our lives happier.

I have a few photos from Mari dance extravaganza to share. It was a really great show, in a wonderful brand new theater at the Anderson Center. Deluxe dressing rooms instead of a high school band room. Restrooms aplenty. We’ll take it!

Here is my pretty pensive ballerina waiting to go on.

And here is the costume I worked on (plus the costumes for the four other girls in the dance.)

I had to add another layer to the skirt (14 extra pieces per dress times five dresses = 70 pieces to cut and sew on.) Plus I had to search out a garland of flowers to make the headpiece and waist accent. Then hot glue all the flowers on tight, and then add yellow flowers because WE HAVE TO HAVE YELLOW. They looked so pretty; it was worth it.

Finally, here are Mari’s flowers she received.

I think her favorite part is being handed the flowers after the show.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Venus permalink
    June 10, 2008 7:22 am

    squee So Pretty!! *love*

  2. Sue permalink
    June 10, 2008 7:57 am

    Awww, I remember Sarah was a pretty pretty ballerina. Now she’s a pretty gothy punky ballerina. 😀

    Here’s a bit of Sarah dancing at the Christmas concert in 2005. She’s in darkish blue on the right. Her hair was still blonde then.

  3. June 10, 2008 3:22 pm

    Thanks, Venus! We moms are suckers for our little dancers, huh?

    Sue,
    Aw, our little gothy girl! she’s very good!

  4. June 14, 2008 1:07 am

    Very cute. And fancy!

    My daughter is starting ballet lessons next week for the first time – I think she’ll dig the getting flowers thing.

  5. June 16, 2008 8:36 am

    C-T Dad,
    Hope she enjoys the dancing! Don’t freak out though if she cries and refuses to go in to class sometimes. Mari did that. But once we got her in there and she started dancing she never wanted to leave!

Leave a Reply

