Skip to content

Forty Rhymes with Naughty

May 19, 2008

Neil’s Blog Entry

This Friday was my fortieth birthday. That’s right, kiddies, I’m old. Well, not really. I’ve heard that forty is the new thirty. So I guess thirty is old.

Anyway, so Friday morning I’m walking into the office and this is what I see.

My friends at work decorated my work space with black balloons, black streamers, black glitter (Can glitter actually BE black? Think about that one for a while), and a tombstone made from Styrofoam that read “The Big Four-0.” Oh and did I mention the whole thing was taped off with police crime scene tape that read “Over the Hill Party Scene?”

It was a great birthday – some cool presents, a nice lunch out with friends and my lovely wife and then a really great dinner at J. Alexander’s.

My mom asked me a while back – actually, she has asked me this about six times since Christmas – if I was freaking out about turning forty. And you know what, dear reader, I’m not. Seriously. I honestly feel about the same way I did when I was around twenty-eight. It’s not that my life hasn’t changed since then. On the contrary, there have been many changes in my life, but I don’t FEEL any older really. Maybe it’s because I have the maturity of a fifteen year-old… I don’t know. It’s just the way I feel.

Still with no pithy catchphrase,
Neil

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2008 8:07 am

    Would black glitter be iron filings? Very Trent Reznor scattering that around, but also very bad for that lovely hardware on display. Glad you had a great 40th, welcome to the club.

  2. May 19, 2008 9:33 am

    Thanks Andrew. I hear it’s a pretty cool club to be in. And hey, did you notice the title of the blog post? Huh? Huh? It’s from one of my favorite birthday greetings I got this year.

  3. Bryan permalink
    May 19, 2008 11:17 am

    40 may be the new 30, but since 30 is the new 20, you are still old… 🙂 Of course you are younger than me. Happy Birthday.

  4. Heather permalink
    June 2, 2008 9:34 am

    Happy Belated 40th Neil! Glad to hear that you’re not down about it and that you had a great time with friends and family. 🙂

  5. July 10, 2009 4:47 am

    Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

