Skip to content

It’s Never Too Soon To Start the Christmas Knitting

May 13, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry (Like Neil would write about this…)

Yes, the Christmas knitting is already well underway. I am doing another shawl. This one is rectangular and almost approaches small afghan status. It’s for someone wool-allergic, so I went with Lion Brand Homespun in Corinthian.

It really is very soft. I like the basketweave pattern, which would show up even more in a solid color. But I love THIS color.

I got the free pattern here. All the counting in the design isn’t driving me too demented once I started putting in stitch markers in each row after every repeat. That way if I end up with the wrong amount of stitches somehow, I can easily find the error in the row.

I think this would be nice in a soft wool, cotton, or especially in a silk-blend yarn, if I had a bigger knitting budget. It would be great to have this lying on the sofa for TV watching.

I have formulated a little list of other Christmas knitting that will be mindless and portable for summer vacation travel. But first I am going to use up my leftover Lion Cotton Ease and crochet a Market Bag (click on the Pattern Finder and search for pattern #60551). Mine will be in multi-colored bands of white, pink and green. I’ll feel like I am back in high school when I carry it. Remind me to tell you all about my uber-preppy phase in the early 1980’s. Once something like that happens your only choice is to go goth for the rest of your life as penance.

Speaking of goth, I also have been progressing on the black trinity stitch cardigan (called The Flirty Sweater in Ready, Set, Knit by Sasha Kagan.) Remember, I am NOT putting on the bow closure the pattern calls for. Perhaps a tasteful little skull button closure instead?

Slowly progressing. OK, I ripped out 37 rows and started over because it was riddled with errors. There I said it. Now I am up to almost 50 rows and I only see one error and I can live with it. This pattern is impossible to ladder-down to fix an error due to the complicated pattern. So I have to really concentrate on each row, and use stitch markers to count. It’s getting a little faster, but not much. I am not in a hurry on this, though.

Finally, I made another pair of baby booties for a friend.

(Lionbrand.com Pattern Finder: Glamour-Baby’s First Booties) I tried another cashmere blend, (Bernat Cashmere Natural Blends) which turned out OK. It is very soft, but it didn’t have the body of the Lion Cashmere Blend that I used the first time. The Bernat would make a wonderfully soft scarf, though.

Now I want to go and work on the shawl, because when it is finished I’m starting that market bag. It will be fun to have a crochet project for a change. Today is Creative Wednesday! So I’m off to work on vocals and write a podcast script. And find time to knit? Ha. Ever the optimist.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jackalberson permalink
    May 16, 2008 10:00 am

    The missus has taken up bag-making at home. It’s awesome to see people being crafty!

  2. Heather permalink
    June 2, 2008 7:34 am

    Lion Brand Homespun is such a wonderful yarn – I’ve used it many times. The varied colors add a lovely dimension to any project. As for ripping out 37 rows, I know how that goes. It’s so hard to accept that you must do it, but in the long run it’s the better choice. All of your projects look great!

Leave a Reply

