Skip to content

Recharge

May 9, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

Earlier this week it was just so beautiful outside that I had to go out and enjoy it.

I sat in my chair out under the trees on the driveway, watching the sky and warming my legs in the sun.

In my new Converse shoes.

If you look carefully you can see the cat in the top right-hand corner of the photo. He is an indoor cat, who dreams of being an outdoor cat. I feel bad for him, but we live on a busy street. He’s not the sharpest knife in the drawer, so the possibility of him wandering out into traffic is pretty high. So I came up with a solution. It is extremely odd, but I bought a harness and long leash and have tethered him to a little metal thingy in the yard. I can move it around so he can be out with me while I garden.

He loves the sunshine, and he lies still so the birds come pretty close and yell at him for being there. A win for everyone! The birds are freakin’ crazy this year. There is this one who I assume is a lonely male because he sings and sings all kinds of amazing songs. Most likely trying to get a girl bird to notice him.

The cat is rarely still, so a got a few shots of him. The first one… not such good timing:

But the second one – he’s ready to be the George Clooney of cats, serious, but with that boyish charm:

Is there a version of Teen Beat for cats? This shot would so be on the cover. And Sagwa would so be in a kitty boy band.

It was very healing to sit outside and listen to the new Nine Inch Nails album The Slip straight through, from start to finish. It’s rare to get the chance to do that. I hope there are more days like this ahead.

Photo Notes:
In the sky photo I pumped up the contrast and the color. But the sky felt this blue to me.

In the tree photo I pumped up the contrast, tint, color, sharpness, you name it. I love playing with effects.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2008 8:35 am

    excellent photos…i also love to get outside on a beautiful day to recharge. there’s something about that sun that does it for me.
    my cat, gunner, is an indoor/outdoor cat (oh, that sounds like carpet) and he loves to sit under my chair when i’m outside. sometimes he runs off to chase a bird and i think he’s showing off for me. 😉

    love the new shoes! have a great weekend!

    xo diane

  2. Heather permalink
    June 2, 2008 7:15 am

    When I saw the first pic I was like, “When did they go to Egypt?” Nice idea for keeping your cat in the yard. You’re creative, just like your grandpa.

Leave a Reply

