Skip to content

Grandpa’s Big Idea

May 7, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

During some of the spring cleaning around here, I was emptying a drawer and I found an envelope I had forgotten.

This was the second time this envelope was discovered. The first time it was tucked carefully between the pages of a copy of Crockett’s Victory Garden, a book I got from my Grandfather’s collection when he passed away.

That’s my Grandpa. Isn’t that the cutest thing? He was a huge Cincinnati Reds baseball fan. I remember that he and my grandmother would watch every game on TV while listening to AM radio for the play-by-play.

Can’t say that I inherited the love of baseball, but I did get the gardening bug. And maybe a few creative ideas to boot.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2008 12:51 am

    How cool.

    I wonder what his idea was…

  2. May 8, 2008 1:59 pm

    Thanks, creative-type dad. Bet the Reds are kicking themselves that they didn’t start producing the lawn-mower hat back in their heyday!

  3. Heather permalink
    June 2, 2008 7:13 am

    What sweet keepsakes these are! Makes me think of my grandpa. 🙂

Leave a Reply

