Skip to content

Spring Fever: Take 3

April 19, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

Look, bloglings. Laura is GETTING THINGS DONE. Productivity makes it all peaceful-like inside my head. Enjoying it while it lasts.

We’re taking a quick detour outdoors today. I got some petunias in killer colors this year. I love the multi ones. And I am a freak for purple flowers this year.

I finally pitched the old pots I bought for the porch when we bought this house 14 years ago. They were toast. These have a cool reservoir in the bottom that is supposed to hold 2 weeks of water. I don’t believe that for a second, but maybe I can water every other day when it is 90 degrees here. I also used potting soil that holds extra water.

Here is my sad little window box. It will look great in June. I am very thrifty so I only put in a few plants and let them fill out instead of packing it full at the beginning. Patience is a virtue. Plus I can buy more shoes this way.

Lastly, my new annual herbs are sitting on the porch in herb purgatory at the moment.

I have to clean out the garden to make a place to put them in. But if I wait until the garden is ready before buying them, there will be nothing good left at the nursery. So here they sit. I even covered them with a towel last week when it went down into the low 30’s at night. I am so responsible.

Time for knitting, an old movie, and napping. More home projects coming up.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2008 6:02 pm

    We started doing our stuff today. Three hours of yard clean up and boy am I sore. But it also feels good to get some of this stuff done. We haven’t planted anything yet, but it’s still too early here to do that. Usually the end of May is finally safe for planting. What about in Ohio? When’s the last frost? Ken wanted to run out to a couple nurseries today, but it’s too early and he’ll change his mind 17 times between now and when it’s safe to plant about what annuals he wants this year.

  2. April 19, 2008 8:48 pm

    Yard work gives a special kind of sore, doesn’t it? They say that we shouldn’t plant until the beginning of May, but when I wait until May nothing is left at the store. Window shopping at the nursery is not a good idea! It causes confusion and you end up buying way more than you should. Be sure to post photos on your blog Walt, when you do get your stuff put in. I’d love to see it!

  3. April 28, 2008 10:27 am

    Sigh, a window box… I always wanted a window box…

Leave a Reply

