Skip to content

Cincinnati Is Indeed Modern

April 7, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

We had one of those unusual weekends with lots and lots to do. So many fun things.

Friday night Tony Miracle did another local show featuring his album Cincinnati Modern. He performed at an art show at Abode, a cool contemporary furniture store across the river in Covington, Kentucky. There is a little German section of Covington called Mainstrasse Village and they were having a gallery walk. Too bad it was pouring rain. We didn’t do the walk, but we enjoyed Tony’s show. It’s interesting how music can fit a setting really well. The modern furniture, funky handmade jewelry, and the mixture of different kinds of art was a good combo with the electronic goodness.

I took a few photos. In this one you can see Neil was doing some filming. Neil also got to serve as roadie.

Tony has some cool video projections to go along with the music, showing local contemporary architecture.

I love the shadow of Tony’s epic hairdo on the projection. Classic.

It was nice to get dressed up a bit and get out.

Saturday we were up early and went to an arts festival at Mari’s school. They had lots of craft tables where the kids could make things. She decorated this mask with lots of jewels.

She really, really wants to be a real princess someday. We are sltill accepting applications from any and all monarchies. All serious offers will be considered. Just be prepared to support her in the manner she imagines she deserves. I’m just sayin’.

Later on Saturday we went to the monthly meeting of the New Media Cincinnati group. Lots of podcasters, internet entrepreneurs and bloggers get together and network. The group has really grown! It’s interesting to hear what other people are doing and how they use the internet. Neil always manages to have some sort of animated discussion about something. This time it was about Creative Commons. Too bad he never shares how he really feels… Ha!

Speaking of Neil, he has put together an incredible video for the Nine Inch Nails Ghosts film festival on YouTube. I can’t wait for him to get it uploaded! I got to work with him on it. We went to the park over three lunch hours and shot it. I am very uncomfortable being on screen. Thank goodness he used tons of filters and effects. I look cool and gothy and nothing like I do in real life. What a relief. I was horrified by the raw footage. I looked awful. He was filming about two inches from my face at times. He promised he wouldn’t make me look bad, and he came through. I think the video fits the music so well. It is seriously one of the most beautiful pieces I think he has ever done.

So Sunday morning we went to see my niece play soccer. She was in town from Cleveland for a match. Those girls play hard! We had a nice brunch and then we came home and I took an incredibly long nap. Like all afternoon. Bliss. I am never as happy as when I am asleep. Sad but true.

So I think this weekend ended up having a theme. Watching people do what they do best – Tony doing music, Neil doing video, Mari making a craft, Sarah playing soccer. Me, I take pictures. Photographic pictures. And I nap. Like a champ.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2008 3:18 pm

    Oh Jealous. Art, Music, Groovy night out, film and Tony’s tunes. Looks like a great night out. I want to come to Cincinnati! Great pics too. What is Neil doing with the film? Would like to see it.

  2. April 7, 2008 3:25 pm

    Come anytime, Andrew. Cincinnati is a hotbed of art. OK, a lukewarm bed is perhaps a better description. There is some cool stuff, anyway! I think the video was for Tony to use. I’ll find out if it is for a specific project.

  3. April 9, 2008 2:27 am

    You saw Tony Miracle and didn’t let us know? Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww $#!+!!!!

  4. April 9, 2008 6:13 am

    Ooops! So sorry! Won’t make that mistake again, whatbabystuff. Guess he’ll have to do another show now so you can go. Hear that Tony? Hint… Hint…

Leave a Reply

