Skip to content

English Muffin Bread

March 25, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

Made this delicious bread last night along with the 7 Veggie Soup from Thefoodsex.com. Neil ate zucchini. It must have been good. This is his favorite bread, so that helped, too. Hey, I just realized I forgot to add the spinach to the soup! That will make it even better!

I think my mom got this recipe from a magazine ad for yeast back in the 1970’s.

English Muffin Bread

3 cups all-purpose flour, divided
1 1/2 teaspoons sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons yeast
1 cup milk
1/4 cup water
Cornmeal

Combine 1 1/2 cups of the flour with sugar, salt, soda and yeast in a large mixing bowl.

Heat liquids to 110 degrees. Add to dry ingredients and mix. Add the remaining 1 1/2 cups of flour and mix well to make a stiff batter. This bread in not kneaded. Just mix until well blended.

Oil an 8 1/2 x 4 1/2 (standard) bread pan. Coat the sides and bottom with cornmeal. Tap out any excess.

Spoon batter into the bread pan. Sprinkle top with cornmeal.

Let rise approximately 45 minutes to 1 hour until bread reaches the top of the pan. It isn’t a super-tall bread.

Bake in a 400 degree oven for 25 minutes. Remove from pan to cool.

Note: This bread is great toasted the next day!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2008 2:22 pm

    STOP! Stop baking bread. Stop with the new recipes… it’s like a baking challenge! ARGHHH!!!!!

  2. March 25, 2008 3:21 pm

    They are just suggestions… file them away for future reference. No pressure here from The Smiths’ Occasional Blog. But you better send photos when you do try it!

  3. March 26, 2008 3:55 am

    i wanna try this! i just imported it into my recipe program (very cool program called yummy soup for the mac)(you can drag a link into it, and it copies all the info into the right places! ingredients, prep, etc).

    btw, got ‘awaited’. watched it with kira and a friend. very cool. just wish i coulda been there. thx so much to u and neil for sending it on.

  4. March 26, 2008 6:59 am

    Hey Jeff,
    That program sounds cool. I’ve tried a few in the past but gave up because they were buggy or wouldn’t upgrade with my system software (I almost sound like I know what I am talking about. Been listening to This Week in Tech to improve myself!)

    Glad you liked “Awaited.” I’m pretty sure they are doing it again next year. Yea!

  5. March 26, 2008 10:13 pm

    So this isn’t a dough but a batter? Interesting. I’m assuming you get your yeast in the little jars like me therefore you measure out with teaspoons, no?

  6. March 27, 2008 6:11 am

    Gene,
    Yeah, it’s weird that it is a yeast batter. I use Hogson Mills brand yeast from the grocery store. It come in packets, but any “active dry yeast” will work. You just measure out the specified amount. I assume that is what is in your little jar. Some people prefer ‘fresh” yeast; it’s harder to get a hold of – sometime you can buy it from a professional baker. I’m not that hardcore, although I have considered making the effort to get it.

Leave a Reply

