Skip to content

Freaky Friday

March 14, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

Fridays are a little out of control around here. I am not one who enjoys bustling around, always busy, go, go, go. I like to complete a task, then have some down time. Complete another task, knit and watch an old movie. It has been a challenge lately to try to have that much space in the day. And it is especially challenging on Fridays.

Friday mornings lately have been devoted to cleaning up and preparing food for our Friday night study group. Today I am also spending a few hours at the school library shelving books. Plus Mari has dance class, which means I won’t get home until about 30 minutes before everyone arrives tonight for the group and a potluck dinner.

I am not exactly running at full speed here. It’s been kind of an emotional week. I am still processing some stuff and I reserve the right to process some more here on the blog. But I am kind of in this numb state – you know – the after effects of dealing with some emotional stuff. It’s a good feeling, but I’m a bit drained. The dessert I made for tonight should help:

An assortment of mini-muffins. Triple chocolate, peanut butter, and then peanut butter with a few chocolate chips on top. I am dying to eat one, but so far I have abstained. Not confident that my resolve will hold. All that is deterring me is that the symmetry of the dessert tray will be off if I eat any.

Fun stuff to blog about soon – working on a new playlist called “The Bittersweet Mix.” It is coming together really nicely. Watched a couple really good movies that I want to talk about, too. But now I have to wrap things up and get going downtown. My iPod is all charged, so we will be spending a lovely afternoon together in the library and sitting at dance class.

I’ll be the one with a blissful look on her face while podcast after podcast gently whispers in her ear.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2008 10:13 pm

    Rough going for a while? Hope everything’s better now.

  2. March 18, 2008 7:49 am

    You know, I can feel these things coming. We had an amazing weekend after all this, but it was a challenge for me emotionally. All good stuff; but growing never feels all that comfortable, does it? To steal a phrase from another blogger I know (Gene), my “personal journey” has just gotten way more personal.

Leave a Reply

