Skip to content

Thing-a-Day 5

March 4, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

Before I post my final few Thing-a-Day entries, I just want to shout from the mountain top that I have achieved Inbox Zero. Hello, you beautiful blank email program. I dare anyone to send me a message. I dare them. I may just delete everything that I get without reading it just to stay in this Zen space. I quickly shut down the program as soon as it was cleared out, to avoid hearing that little “bing” to say that more had arrived.

Merlin Mann has saved my sanity. 43 Folders for everyone! Combine this with the fact that I shredded an entire bag of documents and receipts – I may need a sedative.

*Gets up and does the happy dance*

*Sits back down*

I also did a happy dance on February 29, because it was the last day of Thing-a-Day. I have not taken a photo since. I’m sure it is only a short hiatus. I’ve been thinking about ideas for photo essays.

But in the meantime, here are the final 6 entries:

Day 24

This is a view of Neil’s laptop the day we recorded the podcast. We really had fun with this last episode – but then we usually do have a pretty good time.

Day 25

Financial Responsibility

I was entering piles and piles of receipts on Day 25. I have streamlined my receipt processing system, so I am meeting this task with less dread these days.

Day 26

Chili

Made a killer batch of chili the other day. I will post the recipe. I plan to write it with an optional vegetarian/celery-free version. Mainly to avoid getting 29 comments on the entry from Andrew. If he has an issue with tomatoes he is just going to have to suck it up.

Day 27

Funky Drugstore Glasses

I broke down and got these recently because I could no longer read the lyrics that were printed in the CD booklets. Especially those printed on gloss black – thanks, ever so much, The Cure.

Day 28

Noah’s Ark

I played around setting up this shot for some time. I had in my head what I wanted it to look like. Finally got the depth of field I was looking for. I think the texture that shows up on the giraffe is cool, too.

Day 29
This is a 4-parter. I have been coaching Mr. Bee on bread baking. He is a determined student. Even when I sent him a recipe with an error in the amount of sugar, he never gave up. Just keepin’ you on your toes, Mr. Bee! I used bread making as my final photo challenge.

Here is my bread in process:

Here’s Kevin’s loaf:

Well done, Grasshopper!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. jackalberson permalink
    March 4, 2008 2:08 pm

    That chili looks fanTAStic, as does the bread!

  2. March 4, 2008 2:11 pm

    Thanks, Jack! And thanks also for your comment in the “about” section. I forwarded that on to Neil. Recipe for chili will be posted in the next day or so…

  3. March 4, 2008 3:07 pm

    I have still not given up. I want my second rise to be similar to yours. I will get there! I promise….next up tackling wheat bread. 😛

  4. March 4, 2008 3:29 pm

    Neat-O

  5. March 4, 2008 4:55 pm

    Tomatoes are my friends.

  6. March 4, 2008 5:00 pm

    Do you mean they are your friends as in I better not harm them by cooking and eating them? Or they are your friends that you love to eat? The latter is a bit cannibalistic, don’t you think?

  7. March 5, 2008 3:10 am

    Well, they are friends as in I am very fond of them. I have been told over the years that with special equipment one can hear vegetables scream as they are cut into but I have yet to see this special equipment and wouldn’t it make mealtimes fun if every time you squashed prodded or cut into something it emitted a little squeal, hoot or cry! That would make children eat their veggies I am sure. I might even enjoy shredding celery then.

  8. March 5, 2008 3:25 am

    Love the pics!

  9. March 5, 2008 1:53 pm

    Yum- Chili…

Leave a Reply

