Skip to content

Vegetable Beef Soup

February 27, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

Here is the recipe I mentioned the other day. It is easy to make with prepackaged “beef for stew” that you can get at the grocery – basically a roast that it already cut into chunks. Or you can do what I do and use left-over pot roast. Yum!

Vegetable Beef Soup

1 lb. beef stew meat, cut into 1/2 inch cubes ***

1 cup onion, chopped
2 stalks celery, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
4 cups beef broth
2 cups frozen mixed vegetables
1 Tablespoon tomato paste
1/2 teaspoon dried basil
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano

Brown meat in a small amount of oil in a large soup pot. When meat is partially cooked, add onion and celery. Saute until meat begins to brown and vegetables are softened. Add garlic and sauté 1 minute more.

Add 4 cups beef broth. Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer. Let simmer 1 1/2 hours, or until meat is tender.

Add the rest of the ingredients to the soup pot. Simmer slowly until vegetables are cooked.

*** I like to use 1 lb. of diced left-over pot roast instead of the stew meat. If you do this, skip the 1 1/2 hour cooking time for just the meat. Just sauté the celery and onion and garlic alone and then combine all the ingredients and let simmer.

This works well in a crock pot – because you don’t have to really watch it. Just brown the meat and onion and celery on the stove and then add to the crock pot. Simmer on high for the first 1 1/2 hours if using stew meat. Then on low a few hours until the vegetables are done.

Serves 4.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2008 6:45 pm

    Oh my! Meat AND Celery, move along Andrew, there’s nothing for you here!

  2. February 28, 2008 9:29 am

    Andrew, I thought if I titled it “Vegetable Beef Soup” you would skip this entry. Next time I’ll title it: “Andrew Beware!”

    What have you got against celery? It doesn’t have a soul, or even a face. Could it be that it tastes like eating twine? (Not in soup though… there it is yummy!)

  3. February 28, 2008 3:00 pm

    Celery is Satan’s vegetable, a truly truly hideous taste that makes my taste buds screech in horror, ethically I have no issues with people shredding, chewing and torturing this vile freak of a vegetable. Interestingly, I know a lot of vegetarians who detest it too. And this could be a survey for you – someone once told me that people who find it so repellent are usually Summer babies. To date this has been true of everyone I have asked. Quite why I don’t know!

  4. February 28, 2008 3:27 pm

    Ok, that is one of the craziest theories I have ever heard! I will definitely have to test it out! I just asked Mari – she is a summer baby. VERDICT: No on the celery. Ye gads! You are correct, Sir!

  5. February 28, 2008 5:50 pm

    There you go, proof indeed. Over the years the only reason that Summer babies have come up with for this is that maybe Mum’s have eaten a lot of the stuff while we have been in temporary residence and then once free range have reacted against it from being force-fed over the previous nine months. Wouldn’t ‘Summer Babies’ make a great album or band name? Tell Neil, he should do something with this!

  6. February 29, 2008 11:44 am

    Now I was born in July and ADORE celery!

  7. February 29, 2008 11:47 am

    Ah Kevin. You are such an instigator! But darn cute. Well one bad stalk doesn’t have to spoil the whole theory, so to speak. Soldier on, Andrew! Believe in yourself!

  8. February 29, 2008 11:48 am

    PS – We now expect all communication to be addressed to “Summer Babies” and not “The Smiths.” The Smiths was taken, anyway.

  9. February 29, 2008 4:25 pm

    Kevin, I fear that your parents possibly need to tell you the truth about your real birth date as I refuse to believe that this theory can be questioned. Say no to celery – it is to vegetables what Comic Sans is to fonts; ugly, it crops up where it should never be, is thoroughly unpleasant and rarely justifiable.

    LINK: http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=2229087096

  10. February 29, 2008 6:39 pm

    I feel I must put my two cents in here. I was born in May and love celery. Nothing like it to cool down the pallet after a plate of yummy Buffalo wings. It is also good with peanut butter. Not so much with jelly.

    And Andrew, while I cannot agree with your position on celery, I do however applaud your connection to Comic Sans – a highly detestable typeface. I feel the same way toward the Sand font. I once saw it on a park bench advertisement in Chicago… in all caps no less! (Makes gut-wrenching puking noise.)

  11. February 29, 2008 7:10 pm

    This is obviously a US v UK thing here then. No British Summer Babies like Celery. FACT! Well, based on the 6 people I know that hate it which is scientific enough for me. British Summer Babies RULE! Celery doesn’t!

  12. February 29, 2008 10:08 pm

    Andrew, British Summer Babies aside, have you thought it could simply be that British celery is just inferior in taste to that of the celery available in the US? I mean, I know that even though there are many similarities between our two countries, there are many differences as well. Perhaps the vegetable known as celery here tastes good and the one known as celery over there just sucks? No offense intended. I’m just sayin’.

  13. March 1, 2008 5:33 am

    Good theory but alas it is not true. Been to the States, East and West sides and the evil vegetable that from this moment henceforth shall not even be named was surreptitiously added to some of my meals. I wish I could report that the taste was less wretched but sadly not. In this case UK and US varieties are identical. UK/European chocolate is nicer though! Cue flame war 😉 !!!!! (and the biggest comments section you have ever had)

  14. March 1, 2008 10:45 am

    Well, I agree with you completely on chocolate. No fear of flames here. With a very few exceptions, chocolate here in the States is deplorable when compared to the delicious chocolate found in European countries. However, in regards to that which shall not be named, I now believe that there are fundamental differences in the tastebuds of Brits and Americans. One does not need to look further than something like Black Pudding – look it up – to see that you guys enjoy stuff that we would not. And I’m sure you would have trouble getting down some of our local culinary treasures as well – not that I can think of any right now, but I’m sure at least one exists. Anyway, perhaps then, celery is one of those items that to Americans are simply wonderful, and to Brits, taste like garbage.

  15. March 1, 2008 10:06 pm

    What’s this? Did I just get the last word? USA! USA!

  16. March 2, 2008 1:17 pm

    NO

  17. March 2, 2008 1:44 pm

    Oh, I believe I just did.

  18. March 2, 2008 2:39 pm

    Now this could get a little out of hand couldn’t it 😉

  19. March 2, 2008 3:30 pm

    You backin’ down, buddy?

  20. March 2, 2008 3:43 pm

    Grrrrrrrrrrrrr….

  21. March 2, 2008 4:05 pm

    Beware the wild and ferocious British Summer Baby, kids! He will strike when cornered, so just wave a stalk of celery at him and he’ll go away.

  22. March 2, 2008 4:59 pm

    Right, that’s it! You don’t know the power of the poof! I will be checking this blog by the minute now and why did you have to mention c*l*ry again 😦 You know how to hurt your loyal listeners.

  23. March 2, 2008 7:56 pm

    You know me… anything to fan the flame!

  24. March 2, 2008 7:56 pm

    And no, that wasn’t a gay joke.

  25. March 2, 2008 7:59 pm

    For the love of Pete, doesn’t anyone care about vegetable beef soup?

  26. March 3, 2008 4:28 am

    I think most people are probably just observing now, wondering what is the matter with us. I am too. Embrace the madness. Mwah-haha-haha…

  27. March 3, 2008 8:15 am

    Neil wanted me to tell you that he’d love to stay and chat, but he has to like go to a job and stuff. I, on the other hand have other things to do… OK, not really.

  28. March 3, 2008 6:44 pm

    Okay, I give. I’m back from work and Laura tells me there have been emails… I bow down before Andrew the master. He (and the celery-hating British Summer Babies) are superior in every way. Let the parade and dancing commence!

  29. March 4, 2008 1:42 pm

    Too funny 🙂 Thanks in advance for the DVD Mr Neil. As a gift that is not mine to give but I think you will like it, check out this link for a rather fabulous new version of ‘Nobody’s Diary by Yazoo: http://www.league-online.com/yazoo_-_nobodys_diary_the_tenth_stage_remix_192.mp3

  30. March 4, 2008 2:09 pm

    Seriously kickin’ remix, Andrew. Thanks! This is why he is the electronic music guru to the Smiths’ Occasional Podcast, people.

Leave a Reply

