Skip to content

43 Folders… and Counting

February 19, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

The last entry mentioned a new organizational system that I am implementing. It is now underway and I am experiencing what I hope will be a growing sense of calm.

There is so much on our collective family plate right now. All super-cool, fun, exciting stuff. But it is taking a toll. I kind of suck as a parent right now. I am resenting the boring stuff I have to do because there is more fun stuff I could be doing. Don’t really like who I am right now, so I’ve got to make some changes.

Thanks to Accidental Creative, which I have mentions a number of times before, I have discovered some resources to help manage the chaos. It took me a while to start digging into the resources there because I had to first realize that yes, those resources can be for me, even though I am not a creative professional with a creative professional’s income. Guess what, the tools apply, whether I am getting paid or not. Who knew?

Once that obstacle was cleared I decided that I was worthy of participating. I have been soaking up resources and seeing what I can apply to my juggling act of a life. One such resource is the book Getting Things Done, by David Allen. I always thought it was for CEO’s and executives, but I decided to at least give it a look.

Heavenly days, this book is what I needed! I was halfway there with my current systems for managing our schedule and paperwork flow and financials. But the system David Allen teaches fills in the gaps. And simplifies everything. Today I made a cool little binder to get everything rolling.

(Note that I put my computer to Depechemode.com for the photo. I am that kind of a fan.)

I now can have all my ideas, projects, and crucial reference materials all in one spot. In a binder. I love me some binders. And this one is cute and black and little. With labeled tabs. Sigh…

I have also discovered Merlin Mann and his website 43 Folders. He has a killer system for managing your email inbox. Click this link to see the presentation he gave for the employees of Google. Very helpful if you, like me, have over 300 messages in your inbox. Yikes! I have started applying his plan to process all my new messages. Next I just have to go back and process all the old ones. There will have to be some cake at the end of this project or it will never happen.

It was fun to have an excuse to go to the office supply store over the weekend and buy just a few items and implement some changes. One of my great joys in life is a stocking up trip to the office supply store.

Already my jaw is starting to unclench, so I seem to be on the right track. The fact is that yes, I am Laura Smith, a stay-at-home mom who is easily overwhelmed. Deal with it. I am starting to.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2008 3:35 pm

    Color-coding! Office supply stores! Now you’re talking. 😀 Looks like you have all the tools necessary to make big changes. Good luck!

  2. Leslie permalink
    February 19, 2008 5:17 pm

    From one easily overwhelmed stay-at-home mom to another—office supplies ALWAYS help. And followed by chocolate chased down with some red wine…well…let’s just say things become very clear.
    It’s been ages since high school, but we still think alike, Kim!

  3. February 19, 2008 6:10 pm

    Kim! Is it really you? Ha – great to see you here. And thanks for pointing out the holes in my system. *Runs out immediately to get the chocolate and red wine*

Leave a Reply

