Skip to content

Valentine’s Wrap Up

February 17, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

It is a relaxing Sunday after a busy week. I thought I’d reflect a bit before I dive into my new organizational plan for my life that starts tomorrow. More on that later.

I am really getting into this Valentine’s Day stuff. We make things; we eat good food. Why was I so against it for so long? It started earlier in the week when Mari gave me a cute card she made:

Clever girl, that one.

Then Neil called on Thursday and asked if I wanted to go out for lunch. Yea! That is a real treat. He took me out for my favorite lunches – what he calls “frou frou” food. I love a good vegetarian meal. And that’s what I got at the Kona Bistro. It’s only been open since 1997 and this was my first time there. Sad, really.

I am most happy to say that I broke my run of bad “wraps” at this meal. I have never had a good wrap in a restaurant. Ever. Yet I keep ordering them. It seems like the perfect concept: some kind of protein, nice vegetables, green leafy stuff, cheese, and some sort of dressing or condiment all wrapped in a tortilla. What’s not to love?

Well, finally there is something to love. This wrap included a couple of kinds of sauteed mushrooms, tomatoes, onion, and goat cheese with a little French mustard, wrapped in a spinach tortilla. Fabulous! It made me so happy. Of course the slice of Opera Cream Cake we split might have had something to do with the happiness, also. There is a specialty bakery in town called Bonbonerie. Many restaurants serve their desserts because they are breathtaking. This is a mulit-layered chocolate cake with an opera cream between the layers. To die for. Seriously this made me deliriously happy. They also do a White Chocolate Raspberry for which I would do something drastic.

Then if that wasn’t enough of a treat, the three of us went on a family date to the Barnes and Noble in the evening. Everyone got to get a little something – a book or CD – and then we sat down in their little Starbucks and had dessert. I had a massive chocolate cupcake with tons of fudgey icing. Sign. I remember it well. I also got an album that I have wanted for a long time to replace my vinyl version: You and Me Both, by Yaz(oo).

This week was also good in ways that didn’t require eating chocolate and spending money. On Friday night we started a new group that is a part of Consumed, a study we are participating in through our church.

Through it we are able to examine what exactly is consuming us in our daily lives and think about what we really want to be consumed by. It was fun to open our home to some new friends and we look forward to meeting with them over the next 6 weeks. I always grow through these experiences and gain insight that helps move me along in the direction in which I want to go. Regular times of reflection are key to staying on track.

We rounded out our whirlwind of activity last night by hanging out with Ari and Tracey, a couple of Neil’s art school friends with whom we have recently gotten back in touch. They have an adorable baby and it was nice to unwind and watch Neil as Ari recounted stuff from their college days Neil had totally forgotten about. Oh how we all have changed! But we’re all still passionate about the creative process and being a part of it.

It was a good week. And one reason it was good will be the subject of my next entry. I think I have landed upon a strategy to help manage the overwhelming chaos going on in my brain. I know. I am relieved, too.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2008 5:18 pm

    Ahhh, Yaz(oo). I love Alison Moyet so much. She could sing a Chinese take-out menu and I’d think it was the greatest album ever. Did you hear they’re doing a Yazoo tour? Back together for the first time in about 87 years. I’m not sure they’re coming to the US though. Sadsies.

    And all this talk of chocolaty desserts is making me hungry.

  2. February 17, 2008 6:04 pm

    Yes! My friend Andrew has tickets to see them. So jealous. Only touring in the UK, though, I believe. Sorry about all the chocolate talk…

  3. February 17, 2008 10:08 pm

    Never apologize for talking about chocolate. Have you not heard our podcast? Candy keeps coming up! LOL! If I can’t eat it 24/7, I need to hear about it.

  4. February 18, 2008 1:51 pm

    You know I will be thinking about you from Brighton as I watch Vince and Alison on stage singing all those lovely tinkly pop tunes of yesteryear. You and Me Both is a fabulous album, not sure about ‘Happy People’ but nothing’s perfect!

  5. February 18, 2008 3:11 pm

    That’s right. Rub it in, Andrew.

  6. February 18, 2008 7:46 pm

    I’ll buy you a button then. How’s that?

  7. February 18, 2008 7:54 pm

    OK, I love you again!

Leave a Reply

