Skip to content

Ingrid Michaelson

February 10, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

Yea! All is right with the world, the babysitter showed up and no one got sick and had to stay home! Neil and I saw Ingrid Michaelson last night at the 20th Century Theatre in Cincinnati. It is a nice little venue and the sound mix was great.

She is very sweet and funny and had the crowd in the palm of her hand. I was proud of Cincinnati – she kept saying that this was her best show so far. I really recommend you see her if you get a chance. Great vocals and lovely harmonies. She is definitely quirky. Can’t say anyone else I can think of would do the theme song from “The Fresh Prince of Bel Air” as an encore and pull it off.

I was feeling very silly and giddy because I’d never had my picture taken with celebrity before. Here is a slightly blurry shot, but hey, I’m excited about it, OK?

Except for the bunch of drunks next to us – who I had to ask to quiet down – it was a perfect night. Neil was about to tell them to “Shut it!” But I beat him to it. I leaned over and politely asked them to talk a little quieter so I could hear. The one tallest guy kept saying stuff to try to annoy me the rest of the show. Whatever. What are you, 12? Picking on a girl who is 12 inches shorter than you? Ooooo, impressive!

Everyone else just gave them dirty looks. Like that will do anything. The drunk are oblivious to dirty looks, people.

Neil was kinda shocked I took the initiative. He should know that no one should ever mess with my concert-going experience! It cost me the price of two tickets and a babysitter! If it had come to blows I’m sure Neil would have stepped in. He’s always got my back, that guy.

And to end on a positive note, I got my CD signed. Thanks, Ingrid. You are the best!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2008 12:12 pm

    I AM SO FLIPPING JEALOUS!

  2. February 11, 2008 12:22 pm

    Sorry, Mr. Bee!

    You know she’s no Martin Gore, but I consider this good training on how not to embarrass myself with any celebrity opportunities that might present themselves in the future.

    Neil was so funny. He said, “Did you tell her we played her on the podcast? How did you have time to say all that and get the CD dedicated to The Smiths?”

    Hey, you know me. I just prepared a script!

  3. February 11, 2008 12:58 pm

    I love the pic of you two! I love that you got your CD autographed. You are my hero. I want to be more like you.

  4. February 11, 2008 1:03 pm

    Duh, you are the male version of me, what are you talking about? That’s why you are my long-lost brother!

Leave a Reply

