Skip to content

Thing-A-Day

February 4, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

This month I have taken the challenge to make a Thing-A-Day, as chronicled on the website Thing-a-day.com. I was forced encouraged by Nicole and Venus to join them in this little endeavor.

I was overwhelmed by the idea at first. But I came up with a strategy that works for me creatively and also works regarding my time management.

I am using this project as a photo journal and I am taking and posting one photo a day. Well I am taking quite a few photos, but I am posting one. If I make something else that day (it can be a craft, food, the written word) I will post that also. This makes it very achievable and actually quite fun.

I thought I’d also post the photos here, a few at a time. There isn’t any kind of a theme, so I expect it will end up being pretty eclectic.

Day 1

Song 4

This was my first attempt at lyrics for “Song 4.” Not sure how I feel about them. I possibly may hate them. I am showing them to Neil tonight.

Day 2

Suncatcher

Close-up of a suncatcher Mari made with a die cut frame and tissue paper behind. I just like the contrast on this one.

Day 3

Tony’s Studio

I took this last night at our friend’s home studio. There are all these wonderful knobs and wires and keys to photograph. The light was pretty low, though, so this is the only one that was in focus.

Day 4


Untitled

This is my fav so far. I took it this morning when I was walking. It was early and it is a dreary day, so the lighting was very blue. I fiddled with the exposure on the photo, but I didn’t add any color effects. I really like it.

These aren’t part of the Thing-A-Day project, but I like them. Tony and Neil were deep in conversation about something while I was snapping away.

   

I like how you can get a sense of the architecture behind them. Neil likes to talk with his hands.

So, I think I’m going to go off and knit for a while. Not feeling so energetic. Consider creating something of your own today. And recognize that making a list or making dinner is indeed creating.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Donell (rustidonell) permalink
    February 4, 2008 9:23 pm

    I like this idea. 🙂 Imagine if I applied this to my scrapbook…like one page a day. I might actually finish it someday. Hmmmm….something to think about.

  2. March 21, 2008 3:19 pm

    good idea.

    i like the midi controler pic 😛

Trackbacks

  1. Sunrise and Flowers « The Smiths’ Occasional Blog

Leave a Reply

