Skip to content

Some Great Granola

January 29, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

Who’s had enough psychobabble? I hear ya. Time to get back to some photos of food and craft projects. Today was homemade granola day.

I use Alton Brown’s recipe. But with two substitutions: sliced almonds instead of slivered and walnuts instead of the cashews. It is totally delicious and if you make your own you’ll never buy it in the store again.

Here it is all toasted and stored in a canister.

And on to the scrapbook. I mentioned my “Some Great Live Shows” scrapbooks a few entries ago.

Here’s the title page:

It is up to two volumes and growing. It was so fun putting this one together. I organized it into sections by band, and then by tour.

These pages are from DM’s Music for the Masses Tour in 1987/1988. My first DM show was in Chicago. On these pages, I put in an entry from my journal from that time. Here what the text says:

“Journal Entry: Friday November 8, 1987
Yesterday I found out Depeche Mode will be in Chicago December 12. Today I got tickets on the floor. Will I make it to the performance?!! This is really a dream come true!”

What a complete geek I was. OK, still am. That show was one of the coolest events of my life.

The photo was taken in front of DM’s bus. No DM in sight, though. I am pictured with my friends Dan and Tony. That cobalt blue coat was something, huh? Tony is now a newscaster in Indianapolis. If anyone knows where Dan is these days, I’d love to know!

These pages show some memorabilia: A flyer from an “after party” at a local club following the concert. Yes, at one point in time DM did come to Cincinnati. Three times, to be exact. Also a ticket stub. For Music for the Masses, the tickets were going for $16.50 face value for the best seats. Those days are gone! The last tour in 2006 tickets were $75 each. And worth every cent, I tell you!

It’s amazing how much I remembered about all these shows when I put this together last year. This makes me very excited for the next tour. It will be such a different experience, now that we know so many cool fans.

I am pretty sure that I am going to open an Etsy store in the near future to pay for all this DM tour foolishness. I hope to have some hand-knitted items as well as some tote/handbags. The handbags are only in the research and development stage, but I started on the knitting project today.

Final thoughts – I haven’t forgotten about my plan to do creative stuff on Wednesdays. That’s why I drafted this post tonight. Tomorrow morning after my workout I am will be working on lyrics. It feels great to be back in action!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Donell (rustidonell) permalink
    January 29, 2008 10:15 pm

    I love it! Trust me, we were all big geeks back then…lol! Wait…maybe we still are now…when it comes to DM that is?! The DM entries in my old diaries are really funny. I’ll have to share some time. 🙂

  2. February 1, 2008 8:42 am

    So, after reading this entry I immediatley ran out and made granola. My gosh it is yummy!

  3. February 2, 2008 12:16 pm

    Oh all that DM goodness! I must dig out my tour programmes from A Broken Frame, Construction Time Again and Some Great Reward, so much hairspray, so much pouting, so much good music.

  4. February 2, 2008 12:20 pm

    Hey everyone. Thanks for comments. I wish we’d known you back then, Donell! Mr. Bee, glad you liked the granola. Andrew, I must see photos of you from back then! Seriously! Right away!

Leave a Reply

