Skip to content

The Bold and the Beautiful and the Creatively Frustrated

January 24, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

Rethinking some processes and systems. Follow me on this.

Usually I structure my day like this:

1- Get child up and ready for school.

2- Check the web for podcast stats, check the show e-mail, check Myspace and Facebook, check all the blogs I read for updates.

3- Exercise or get going on housework.

4- Reward myself with some time to work on music or the blog or other creative projects.

But I think I need to make a change. I’ve been taking to heart some things lately from Todd at accidentalcreative.com. He recommends that to really develop some creative muscle you have to build in a creative discipline, not just do creative things when you have time, or when you have a project due.

I am really experiencing some frustration lately. I have some things I have wanted to work on for some time. I need to build them into my day, instead of using them as a reward. Because lately I’m either too busy to ever get to the reward, or when I do get there I’m just too tired.

Case in point, I was going to scrapbook over the holidays while Mari was out of school. She could work on hers and I could do mine for our trip to LA in 2004. Not sure what I did instead; I wasn’t sitting around doing nothing. But I sure as heck wasn’t scrapbooking. Scrapbooking for me is another form of writing. My scrapbooks look quite a bit like our blog. I include lots of journaling along with the photos and memorabilia. I think I’ll photograph the “Some Great Live Shows” series of scrapbooks and post them so you can see what it looks like.

Another example – two weeks ago I wanted to start on the lyrics for “Song 4.” Haven’t even cracked the notebook.

So I am going to try to schedule in some time during the day. Starting with one day a week. I’m thinking Wednesday. I can run myself ragged on Monday and Tuesday and then have something fun to look forward to. See, there I go with the reward thing again. It shouldn’t be a reward!

Now to be fair, I lost time being sick recently. I spent three days this week either in bed or on the couch in serious sinus pain. So much pain, in fact that by Tuesday I actually resorted to checking out what was going on in Soap Opera-land. No kidding. Must have been delirious. Seriously.

I watched soaps as a child/teen – I inherited the CBS lineup from my grandmother. But after college I lost interest, what with my job and all. Making a living sure interferes with daytime TV watching.

So the other day to keep from stabbing a fork in my face I thought I’d check out  “The Young and the Restless.” I watch it sometimes when Neil’s mom is visiting. It’s like all high drama and shiny lip gloss. Well, I missed Y&R, but I was just in time for my soap opera nemesis: “The Bold and the Beautiful.” Can I tell you how much this show has always annoyed the snot out of me? Even as a kid it drove me nuts.

But I digress. Just as I hit the channel, the opening credits began… and they were a thing a beauty! It is a star-studded romp these days on B&B! Along with all the original actors that are still around, there is now Jack Wagner! And Lesley-Anne Down! You can’t mean it!

My cold meds had kicked in, and the next thing I knew it was 30 minutes later and I was on to “As the World Turns.” This is a classic in my family. I must be pretty smart, because I hadn’t seen it in years, yet I could follow the storyline right away. Even heavily medicated. Boy was that fun!

I am so tempted to head back today. There is a creepy ventriloquist guy on there, people! And his dummy is up to no good! Heads are gonna roll! Someone will be kidnapped! I can feel it! So this is what we used to do before the internets…

OK, so have I accomplished something here? I’m not sure. But I did sit down and blog before doing laundry. Maybe that’s at least a start.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Cynthia permalink
    January 25, 2008 11:25 am

    Man, am I glad to see the Tyranny of the Urgent affects people other than just myself :). I’m struggling just to give Jesus a few minutes of my day much less actually do something creative. I’d love to think I am still a creative being as I am now an Art History teacher, but survival seems to be the watchword of my life lately: just doing enough to get by and pay a few bills. Like you say, it often gets relegated to ‘reward’ status rather than a life essential. We’re made in the image of the Creator but somehow see that part of us as subordinate to the more practical or mundane. Here’s to both of us giving priority to our inherent creativity, sister 🙂

  2. January 25, 2008 11:33 am

    Yea, Cynthia! Hear, hear. What you do shows your priorities, not what you say is important. Creativity for everyone!

    On a side note…I seem to remember you getting me to watch “General Hospital” in college, where I discovered the Jack Wagner. (Cynthia was my college roommate, dear readers.) So really this is all her fault.

  3. January 25, 2008 8:59 pm

    Another reason to love Laura (not that I need any more)… CBS soaps. I’ve held a grudge against B&B ever since it replaced Capitol on the CBS schedule. I should totally come over and we can hang out at the Mona Lisa for a while, though they don’t seem to ever go there anymore. Then we’ll stop by Fashions and get you something pretty. And then dinner at the Snyder farm.

  4. January 25, 2008 9:56 pm

    Oh Walt! You crack me up! “Capitol.” Totally forgot about that show… with its annoying themesong…We used to make up lyrics to it: “Let’s all go to the Ca-pi-tol…Ca-pi-tol…. Ca-pi-tol…CA-PI-TOL!” Guess you had to be there.

    Shall I book our flights to Oakdale, or will you take care of it, darling? But I wouldn’t shop at Fashions if you put a gun to my head. And Barbara just might. She’s off her rocker, that one.

Leave a Reply

