Skip to content

I Might Like You Better…

January 11, 2008

Neil’s Blog Entry

I got a bunch of iTunes gift cards for Christmas and one night last week I decided to go on a little shopping spree. So I grabbed my laptop, parked my butt on the big leather chair and plugged in my headphones.

First up was getting my Cocteau Twins catalog updated. I’ve been wanting to replace these albums for some time now as most of them were low quality mp3s made from cassettes and albums fifteen years ago. To my delight, there were remastered versions which sound absolutely delicious. Finally! “Oomingmak” without the scratches!

Next up was looking for some new music. Every now and then, I’ll go to the Top Albums section of the electronic music genre on iTunes and listen to a track or two. If I like what I hear then I’ll buy the album. This is the way I found Imogen Heap, who – as most fans will know – has been on the Top Albums list for about a hundred years now. Anyway, I found a band called Faunts who I really like. They’re kinda Radiohead-ish. They have two albums up on iTunes and both are worth checking out.

Next up was Still by Nine Inch Nails. This is a collection of softer acoustic-like versions of music by Mr. Reznor. Very nice indeed.

Finally, I was feeling a bit nostalgic for some of the songs I grew up with. These are some of the songs that I remember from my dreamy dance club days… This was dance music before it all started to sound like the same track played over and over again… Do I hear a rant coming on? Nah. I’ll save that for later. Anyway, after a bit of head scratching (what WAS the name of that one band?) I put together a pretty cool playlist – if I do say so myself.

Here’s the list:

1. Never Say Never – Romeo Void
2. Mirror In the Bathroom – The English Beat
3. Smalltown Boy – Bronski Beat
4. Original Sin – INXS
5. Gone Daddy Gone – Violent Femmes
6. I Predict – Sparks
7. Place In the Country – Adam Ant
8. Do You Wanna Hold Me? – Bow Wow Wow
9. It’s My Life – Talk Talk
10. I Know What Boys Like – The Waitresses
11. Our House – Madness
12. I Beg Your Pardon – Kon Kan
13. Love U More – Sunscreem
14. Only You – Yaz
15. Sweet Jane – Cowboy Junkies
16. Jane Says – Jane’s Addiction
17. Space Age Love Song – A Flock of Seagulls
18. Here Comes the Rain Again – Eurythmics
19. Miss Me Blind – Culture Club
20. Love My Way – The Psychedlic Furs
21. Man Called Marco – Adam Ant

PS – I also made an iMix on iTunes so that you too can enjoy my little trip down memory lane. Have at it!

Still with no pithy catchphrase,
Neil

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2008 11:47 am

    You would love the channel Fred on xm radio. It’s alt 80’s hits. I know I do. 🙂 I love Cocteau Twins.

  2. January 12, 2008 12:02 am

    What a great playlist. I’ve got just about every one of the songs on it. I really miss Romeo Void. And now you’ve got me thinking about the Cocteau Twins again. Haven’t thought about them in years. My friend Tom convinced me to buy Blue Bell Knoll on tape a thousand years ago so that he could abscond with it shortly after the purchase. Bastard.

  3. January 12, 2008 12:03 pm

    Wow I love every song on that list. Everyone is blogging about music lately. I’m never going to hear a podcast again. ACK.

  4. January 13, 2008 8:36 pm

    we must have been at the same dance clubs….i heart every song on that list. delicious! and thanks for taking the time to assemble that amazing and bitchin’ compilation.

    cheers!
    xo diane

Leave a Reply

