Skip to content

December Gift Bonanza

January 9, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

While the holiday season is still fresh in mind I thought I’d show off some of my SWAG – except it’s not Stuff-We-All-Get… because it is Stuff-That-I-Got. So make that STIG.

But first, a little aside. We have a cool little scrapbook given to us by Neil’s Grandmother as a wedding present.

In it you can record what you did over the holiday, insert photos of your Christmas tree that year, the Christmas card you sent, and any other memories you want to preserve. I have been filling it in every year faithfully since 1990.

Well last year I blew it. I didn’t write anything down. Guess I was tired. I didn’t even scratch down any notes or anything. I have pulled together some cards and photos, but I am having a hard time remembering what we all got for Christmas. In a way that is really lame. It makes me feel like I was ungrateful. But in another way it is good. It means the holidays are not just only about the gifts. I really do appreciate everything I get, but I don’t spend the year dreaming and waiting and wanting. OK, except for the 5.1 surround system. I dreamed about that.

Anyway, this year I am blogging this stuff so I can look back on it fondly. (And remember what I got when I get around to filling in the book in July or something.) For my birthday I got some wonderful Tasty Jewelry. Diane sent me a gift from her other jewelry line. It is a cocktail ring I have been lusting after for awhile. Now I simply must go out for cocktails so I can show it off.

I also used birthday money to get a skull ring and a pretty floral necklace.

 

So I now have punk/goth, cocktail fabulous along with pretty and sweet all covered!

Then there are the gothy boots.

These go well with the skull ring, I must say. Bless you DSW Shoe Warehouse. You and your clearance section never let me down. Must now find a short skirt so as to show off the buckles in they way they were intended. The wanting never seems to end… I think I have just contradicted my previous statement about not wanting all year long. It was a nice sentiment while it lasted…

I am also ultra excited to spend my gift cards at Target, Lowes and iTunes. Dining room curtains are in my future. It’s only been 13 years in this house; what’s the rush?

Finally, my sister and her family got me a really pretty wine chiller. It is hip and mod and looks great on the bar.

It is a bit overwhelming to get so much new stuff, all in December, but that’s what it’s like to be a December baby. Here’s to enjoying the stuff we’ve got to the fullest degree possible. Now where is that corkscrew?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2008 11:41 am

    Not remembering what you got last year for Christmas has nothing to do with being ungrateful. It has everything to do with not remembering because we are old. Sorry ducky, but I gots to speak the truth. Love you…Lori…Laura, that’s it Laura.

  2. January 9, 2008 11:54 am

    Mr. Bee – I may be old, but at least I have a filter, darling! But I have to admit, you are right.

  3. January 9, 2008 1:10 pm

    thanks for the lovely mention…it looks like i’m going to have to hire you to take the photos for my website! the cocktail ring looks fabu!!!

    cheers! xo diane

  4. January 9, 2008 3:02 pm

    That’s because it is FABU!

Leave a Reply

