Skip to content

The War on Clutter!

January 7, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

What a nice weekend! I finally didn’t feel run down any more. It was a really restful time, but also tres productive. We got the trappings of Christmas wrestled back into storage for another year. The living room feels huge without the tree in there.

I had time to bake Mr. Bee’s Biscotti. He promised me it was fool-proof… and it was!

I have never gotten Biscotti to turn out before! This flavor is almond and dried cherry – then you dip it in melted chocolate. It was delicious! Even Neil, who hates Biscotti ate piece after piece. The cookies are the perfect texture – dry and crispy, but not too hard. My idea for next time is to artfully drizzle the chocolate over the whole cookie to get chocolate in every bite. Mmmmmm.

I also got Mari’s room back into shape. That monkey has been on my back for a month. About twice a year her room implodes. It gets to the point where I can’t really ask her to put everything away because there is suddenly no place for anything. This time I had to find a home for all her electronic devices and her makeup. Solution?

 

Before there was tiny little stuff everywhere. This causes me stress. Now she has a home for her walkie-talkies (With texting abilities. These gadgets are her solution to not having her own cell phone. Bought with her own money, I might add.) And a home for her Tamagotchi and her MP3 player and her electronic organizer. Kids today! And there’s a landing strip for barrettes and hair ties.

I got plastic stuff (so sorry, Environment!) to house the art supplies and the makeup. She is a methodical kid, so she is excited to have a place for everything.

PS the phone is fake. I also reworked her closet to better house her American Girl doll clothing and accessories that can now coexisting in peace with the Barbie clothing and accessories.

Finally, my biggest pet peeve, the stairs covered in little junk!

  

OK, and that carpet is horrendous! Now at least the steps are cleared off and will stay this way so we feeble old people don’t break our necks when we come down them first thing in the morning when we can barely see or get our legs to move.

Do you get this organizing bug in January like I do? It’s like I just can’t put up with stuff for one more second! Now if I could only get inspired to work on all the receipts. They are mocking me when my back is turned; I just know it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2008 9:44 pm

    We pile stuff on the stairs all the time. It’s the only way we can actually get around to bringing stuff upstairs. If we leave it on a counter or desk, it will sit there. If it’s on the stairs, it’s gone the next time one of us goes up.

    I usually get the organizational bug in February when I do my taxes. I go through my files and try to get rid of old paperwork no longer needed. I still keep way more than I think I’m supposed to. I wish someone could point me in the direction of a list of things I should keep and stuff I don’t need to anymore.

  2. January 8, 2008 11:21 am

    Hi Walt!
    I wish people at this house carried stuff up. My hands are always full, but the stuff is invisible to everyone else, apparently.

    I will e-mail you some tips on what to save that I have gleaned over the years…

  3. January 8, 2008 2:54 pm

    Little junk on the stairs… tell me about it sister! I also have the organizing bug and have been making huge strides at home. Oh, and those plastic shelves that Mari has? I have similar ones in my office and they’re great. Best of luck getting things in shape… it ain’t easy but it must be done. 😛

  4. January 8, 2008 3:21 pm

    Heather, you inspired me on your blog with 2008 – The Year of Throwing Things Away! Thanks for the kick in the pants!

Leave a Reply

