Skip to content

It Was a Great New Year’s Eve… Until It Wasn’t

January 3, 2008

Laura’s Blog Entry

So I am stating right now – so that when I read this next holiday season I will remember – we should not have taken our trip over Christmas. We had all been sick, but we went anyway. A nine to ten hour drive each way is draining when you are well. When you have been sick and not fully recovered, it sucks.

Luckily we had good weather, no bad traffic, and 4 hours of the “How Much Do We Love” podcast to listen to. Plus we got to stop by Pittsburgh for lunch with HeatherReMix and Bob – which is always a highlight of the trip. Mari was a trooper (pretty much.) But we got back home in a debilitated state. And crabby. Extremely crabby.

We rested New Year’s Eve day, then rallied ourselves to hang out with friends. We’re not dumb… we knew we would be pampered with an incredible dinner. Which we were. It was fabulous. The entertaining idea I gleaned from this party is to serves tiny amounts of pumpkin cheesecake in demitasse cups and saucers, and then caramelize sugar on top of them with a tiny butane torch, ala crème brulee. But that wouldn’t be enough for Tony and Jennifer. Oh no. They then had to top that with a teeny, tiny scoop of vanilla ice cream. You can tell I was wiped out this holiday as I didn’t take any photos of this deliciousness.

We then sat down to wait for the ball to drop over Times Square by watching a “Flight of the Conchords” marathon. All this was wonderful.

Then Neil got sick. Try peeling a 9-year-old away from a New Year’s Eve party at 11:30 PM. She was not amused. But neither was Neil, bless his heart. We were up until about 3 until he was able to lie down and rest.

Needless to say, New Year’s Day we took the hint and did what we should have done a week ago – laid on the couch all day. I made some soup, but that was the extent of my effort. The fact that I have not already made sketches and calculations on how to best use my gift cards to make dining room draperies should demonstrate that I am not kidding about the exhaustion around here.

The house is a complete disaster. I am working my way through it today, tiny task by tiny task. But first I am going to take a minute to stare out at the falling snow. It was really pretty to wake up to a few inches this morning. And a nap. I believe I am overdue for a nap.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sue permalink
    January 3, 2008 5:25 pm

    Gotta love those Nanna naps, I highly recommend them. 🙂 All those European countries call it a siesta, but we all know it’s a Nanna nap.

    Sorry you were all ill over the holidays. Hope you get over it really quickly.

    Sue

  2. January 3, 2008 11:02 pm

    Thanks, Sue! I love when the Moders visit me here!

  3. January 7, 2008 12:28 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about Neil… hope that he’s better soon! Best of luck getting your life back on track. It’s rough recovering from the holidays, even when you’ll in good health and haven’t been traveling. Hang in there… thinking of yunz! 🙂

Leave a Reply

