Skip to content

Merry, Merry… Achoo

December 26, 2007

Laura’s Blog Entry

We are all sniffling our way to the end of 2007 with colds, but it was a lovely Christmas here. No snow, though. As Neil said, the Awaited show was amazing. I did my share of crying as well. It was an incredible visual and musical representation of what Christmas means to us. It’s all about the love, people.

Here are some random highlights that come to mind.

There was a photo booth out in the lobby to play in before the show so we of course had to take pictures.

We enjoyed opening some wonderful gifts yesterday – with custom gift tags complements of Mari.
   

The 5.1 surround sound system did indeed arrive and is installed. Here is what it looked like in the living room when Neil was setting it up.

I am really uneasy walking around in such disarray, but it was worth it. Neil is a genius. He researched which system to buy and had every component, cable, bracket, nut, bolt and screw that he needed to set it up Christmas day. We had to borrow a drill (thanks, Tony) because ours died but that couldn’t have been anticipated.

Neil put on Transformers to get it warmed up and it sounded amazing! I gave Black Celebration a run. There’s a whole other layer of sounds in there I hadn’t been able to hear before. Once I cuddled up with the speaker that shoots out the breath-taking harmonies I decided I would never leave the house again. I’ll just order take out. My life is complete. Today we will watch Touring the Angel, Live in Milan.

The kitty seems to enjoy his new scarf that Mari knit for him.

We ate well – fresh squeezed OJ for breakfast with French toast made with French bread. Try it; it’s killer. Then we had some roasted turkey, gravy, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes (just for me) and oriental green beans. Here’s Mari ingesting her green beans under great duress, all to obtain access to the pumpkin pie.

Mari is enjoying her new MP3 player. I loaded up her favorite songs and a few kids podcasts. Who knew there was a Webkinz podcast? I plan to sneak on some DM to balance out the Kelly Clarkson.

Today I gave up and slept. Woe is me. Where is that houseboy? He needs to run me a bath and put a hot water bottle in my bed and hum to me softly until I fall asleep. OK, I am apparently delirious with fever. No more blogging for me until I regain control of my faculties. Night.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 26, 2007 11:41 pm

    I suppose you people could be cuter and more awesome. I don’t know how, but never say never.

    Actually just came by to hunt down the recipe for those chocolate cherry cookies and had to comment on the cute pictures while I was here. 🙂

    Feel better, Laura! I heart you 😛

  2. December 27, 2007 12:15 am

    Adorable! And a webkinz podcast… oh my.

  3. December 27, 2007 6:23 pm

    I love the color green you have on your walls.

  4. December 31, 2007 2:16 pm

    Hey everybody – I’m behind on replying to comments – sickness and travel, that’s what I blame it on! Thanks for the comments! We feel neither cute nor awesome right now, but thanks. Did I mention that I am dying? Argggh!

    Oh, and Walt, that is Sherwin Williams SW6178 Clary Sage. I looked it up, just for you. It’s very restful. It is our living room and dining room color.

Leave a Reply

